Previous Menu
Functioning since 1906, this is one of the oldest departments that was established under The National Council of Education, Bengal. During those days of freedom struggle, several luminaries who graduated from this department served as industrialists, fulfilling the nationalist aspirations. At present it is the largest department in the Faculty of Engineering.The department is actively engaged in various research projects of National importance, involving organizations like DRDO, BRNS, DST, ARDB, NSTL, to name a few. The teachers of the department are also actively involved in technology development and dissemination to the industry and the practicing engineers. The department can boast of an excellent workshop with the state of the art facilities, including NC/CNC machines.
Head Of The Department : Prof Dipankar Sanyal
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 55
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 33
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Chanda
Ph.D.
2484-6952 / +91-9804317847
abhijitchanda.biomed@gmail.com / ech.jdvu.ac.in / ajc_chanda@rediffmail.com
Material Science : Tribology of Cramics and Composites & Bioceramics
Achintya Mukhopadhyay
Ph.D.
- +91-33-24146177/6532 (O)-- +91-33-24166935 (R)
amukhopadhyay@mech.jdvu.ac.in, achintya.mukho@gmail.com
* Combustion
* Heat Transfer
Amitava Sarkar
Ph.D.

asarkar@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Heat Power
Arunabha Chanda
Ph.D.
- 2418 2391- 2418 2391- 9831136059 (M)
anchanda@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Mechanics And Heat Transfer
Asish Bandyopadhyay
Ph.D.
2568-0789
abandyopadhyay@mech.jdvu.ac.in, asishbanerjee@yahoo.com
Production
Balaram Kundu
Ph.D.
2457-2669
bkundu123@rediffmail.com
* Analytical Heat Transfer
* Computational Heat Transfer
* Fin-and-tube Heat Exchanger
* Flat Plate Solar Collector
* Heat Transfer in Porous material
Buddhadeb Oraon
Ph.D.
2432-1506
b_oraon_65@yahoo.co.in / buddhadeb.oraon@jadavpuruniversity.in
Materials Science and Engineering
Industrial Engineering and Management
Applied Statistics and Quantitative Techniques
Quality Management and Quality Engineering
Dipak Laha
Ph.D.
033-24572842
dipaklaha_jume@yahoo.com; dlaha@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Industrial Engineering, Applied Operations Research, Advanced Manufacturing Systems
Dipankar Sanyal
Ph.D.
2414 6177 (O)-2414 6532 (O)-2416 8611 (R)
dsanyal@mech.jdvu.ac.in,dipans26@hotmail.com,dipans26@vsnl.net
* Combustion
* CFD
* Controls
Gautam Majumdar
Ph.D.
0-91-98300-64240
gmajumdar@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Production Engineering, Materials Engineering, Operations Management, Surface Engineering
Goutam Pohit
Ph.D.
+919830142827(M), (033) 2414 2660(O), (033) 2337-3289 (R)
gpohit@mech.jdvu.ac.in / gpohit@gmail.com / gpohit@vsnl.net
CAD
Dynamics and Vibration
Automobile Engineering
Machine Design
GOUTAM SUTRADHAR
Ph.D.
9830342891, 9477253036
goutam sutradhar.jdvu.ac.in / goutam_sutradhar1@rediffmail.com
Synthesis of Aluminum Based Metal Matrix Composites , Processing of Powder Metallurgy Components , Computer Aided Casting Simulation and Method Design , Foundry Sand Practices , Cupola Practice
Prabir Kumar De
Ph.D.

pkdey@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Mech. & Hyd
Pradip Kumar Pal
Ph.D.
9433467998
pkpal@mech.jdvu.ac.in / pradippal54@yahoo.com
Production
Prasanta Sahoo
Ph.D.
033-2457-2660
psahoo@mech.jdvu.ac.in, psjume@gmail.com, psju_me@yahoo.com
Machine Design, Tribology, Computational Mechanics
Sadhan Ghosh
Ph.D.

skghosh@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Sanjib Kumar Acharyya
Ph.D.
2414-6177 (O)--2672-4960 (R)
skacharyya@mech.jdvu.ac.in,sanjib_acharyya@hotmail.com
* Machine Design
* Mechanisms
* Fracture Mechanics
* Finite Element methods
* Design optimisation
* evolutionary algorithms
Sankar Dhar
Ph.D.
033-2414-6177 (O)--033-2416-8021 (R)
sdhar@mech.jdvu.ac.in, sankar_dhar1@rediffmail.com
* Elascity
* Plasticy
* Fracture Mechanics
Simul Banerjee
Ph.D.
2500-7593
simul_b@hotmail.com
Manufacturing specially unconventional machining methods
Snehamoy Majumder
Ph.D.
033-24167866 (R)-- 033-2414 6890 (O)
srg_maj@yahoo.com
Fluid Mechanics, Computational Fluid Dynamics
Sudipta De
Ph.D.
+91-(33)-2457-2435
sde@mech.jdvu.ac.in, de_sudipta@rediffmail.com
Thermal Engineering
Sujit Ghosal
Ph.D.
2413-8087
sghosal_me@mech.jdvu.ac.in, sujit.ghosal@gmail.com
Pumps and Fans,Hydraulic network,Droplet Combustion, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Heat and Mass Transfer,ANN and Optimisation in Engineering Systems
Sumanta Neogi
Ph.D.
2475-5648
sneogy@mech.jdvu.ac.in, am_sneogy@hotmail.com
Applied Mechanics
Swarnendu Sen
Ph.D.
- +91-33-2414-6177 (O)
drssen@mech.jdvu.ac.in, sen.swarnendu@gmail.com
* Heat transfer
* Multiphase and Reacting Flow
* Combustion Synthesis
Tarun Kanti Naskar
Ph.D.

tknaskar@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Machine Design
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Amit Karmakar
Ph.D.
2413-8297
akarmakar@mech.jdvu.ac.in, amk_babu@hotmail.com
* Computer Structures
* Finite element Applications
Arghya Nandi
Ph.D.
03325579173
arghyan@yahoo.com,anandi@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Applied Mechanics
Avijit Mukherjee

Debabrata Nag
Ph.D.
2412-6436 (R)--- 2414 6890 (O)
dnag@mech.jdvu.ac.in, debabrata_nag@hotmail.com
Machine Design
Debasish. K. Roy
Ph.D.

d_roy@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Mech. & Hyd
Dulal Krishna Mondal
Ph.D.
033-24146890
dkmondal@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Machine Design
Goutam Nandi
Ph.D.

gnandi@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Production
HIMADRI CHATTOPADHYAY
Ph.D.

chimadri@gmail.com
Thermal Engineering/ Computational Fluid Dynamics/ Turbulence
Kashinath Saha
M.E.
2414-6908 (R)
kashinathsaha@gmail.com, https://sites.google.com/site/kashinathsaha2/
Machine Design
* CAD
* Vibration Control
* Machine Dynamics
Koushik Ghosh
Ph.D.
91-33-24146177
kghosh@mech.jdvu.ac.in, kghoshjdvu@gmail.com
*Computational Heat Transfer
*Multiphase flow
*Boiling Heat Transfer
*Reactor Thermal Hydraulics
Prabir Kumar Ghosh
Ph.D.
- 2424-1673 (R)-2414 6890 (O)
pkghosh@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Production Engineering
Rajat Subhra Sen
Ph.D.

rssen@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Production
Rana Saha
Ph.D.
2414 6177
rsaha@mech.jdvu.ac.in, rsaha24@rediffmail.com
* Fluid Power and Control
* Hydraulics
Ranajit Kumar Chakraborti
Ph.D.

Saikat Mookherjee
Ph.D.
91-33-24146177/6532 (O)-- +91-33-24165964 (R)
smookherjee@mech.jdvu.ac.in, babun13in@yahoo.co.in
* Fluid Mechanics
* Hydraulic Control
* Multi-phase flow
* Nonlinear and Neuro-Fuzzy Control
Samar Chandra Mandal
Ph.D.
- 2593-0518 (R)--2414 6890 (O)
scmondal@mech.jdvu.ac.in, samarju2003@yahoo.com
Machine Design
Pressure Vessel
Snehanshu Mandal
Ph.D.
2359-1356 (R)---2414 6890 (O)
smandal@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Heat Power
Somenath Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2564-4883
snb_ju@yahoo.com
Applied Mechanics
SUBHASH CHANDRA PANJA
Ph.D.
0-9051509030
panja12@yahoo.co.in / panja12@gmail.com / spanja@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Industrial Engineering and Management
Subodh Kumar Saha
2277-5748 (R)-- 2414 6890 (O)
sk_saha@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Heat Power Specialization
Titas Nandi
Ph.D.

Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Anindya Sundar Das
Ph.D.

Anirban Mitra
Ph.D.
9836380537
samik893@gmail.com
Machine Design (Vibration of structural elements)
Anirban Sinha
Ph.D.

anirban.sinha@gmail.com
Debabrata Das
Ph.D.
+91 33 2414 6890
debudas@mech.jdvu.ac.in, debudas.ju@gmail.com
Dipten Misra
M.E.
913324146372
dmisra@mech.jdvu.ac.in, misra_dipten@hotmail.com
* Design of Heat Exchangers
* Development of Management Information Systems
Nilkanta Barman
Ph.D.
09748012233
nilkanta@mech.jdvu.ac.in, nilkantajdvu@yahoo.com
Thermal Engineering
NIPU MODAK
Ph.D.
9883088250
nmodak@mech.jdvu.ac.in, nmechju@gmail.com
Machine Dedign, Composite Materials, Microfluidics, Product Development
Nirmal Kumar Manna
Ph.D.
91-33-24146177
nkmanna@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Mechanics
Heat Transfer
CFD
Single Phase Flow
Multiphase Flow

Pranibesh Mandal
M.E.
24146177
m.pran11@gmail.com
Fluid Mechanics and Hydraulics, Mechatronics and Modern Control
Prokash C. Roy
Ph.D.

prokash.roy@gmail.com
Fluid Mechanics and Hydraulics
Thermal Science and Engineering
Sandip Das
Ph.D.
2425-6901
sdas@mech.jdvu.ac.in
* Heat Power
* Computer Graphics
* Compiler Design
Siddhartha Patra
M.E.

Sudip Simlandi
M.E.
033-24572664
ssimlandi@mech.jdvu.ac.in
Thermal Engineering
Suman Kalyan Das
Ph.D.
033-24146832
skdas.me@gmail.com
Machine Design
Susenjit Sarkar
Ph.D.
033- 2414 6890 (O)
ssarkar@mech.jdvu.ac.in, susenjit_s@rediffmail.com
Machine Design
Tapan Kumar Barman
Ph.D.
91-33-24572661
tkbarman@mech.jdvu.ac.in, tkbarman@gmail.com
Machine Design
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering (4 Years)110
Bachelor’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering (Evening) (5 Years)40
Master’s Degree in Mechanical Engineering (2 Years)25
Master’s Degree in Automobile Engineering (2 years)5
Back To Top
Research Activities
Sponsored research by faculty members of the Department has seen a spiralling growth in the last ten years resulting a prolific growth of Research publication in the peer reviewed journals

Major areas of research in the Department:
Tribology
Fracture , Fatigue and Deformation Characterization
Combustion and Reacting Flow
Heat Transfer
Structural Mechanics & CAD
Motion Control Systems
Multiphase Flow
Vibration
Virtual Manufacturing
Robotics
Design and Optimization
MEMS
Computational Fluid Dynamics
Modeling of Biomass Gasifiers
Fluid Flow and Heat Transfer Analysis using
Experimental (PIV) and Numerical Techniques
Dynamics & Control-Experiment, FEM
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
-------------------------------------------------
Applied Mechanics
-----------------------------------------------
Universal Tensile Testing Machine, Torsion Testing Machine, Izod Impact Testing Machine,
Rockwell Hardness Tester, Brinell Hardness Tester, Spring Testing Machine, Flywheel Mass Moment of Inertia test setup, Connecting Rod Mass Moment of Inertia test setup, Instron UTM
-------------------------------------------------
Fluid Mechanics and Hydraulics
----------------------------------------------
Reynolds Apparatus,Setup for calibration of V-Notch weir, Setup for verification of Stokes law, Axi-symmetric air jet setup, Centrifugal pump - test setup, Francis Turbine - test setup, Oil Hydraulic circuit, Fluid Power Trainer, Model Pelton Wheel setup, Closed circuit wind tunnel
-------------------------------------------------
Machine Design (Machine Elements)
-----------------------------------------------
Hydrodynamic Bearing Setup, Hydrostatic Bearing Setup, Dynamic Balancing M/C, Critical Speed of Rotating Shaft - Setup, Natural Frequency of Cantilever Beam, Non-Destructive Test Setup, Computational Facility, Pin-on-Disk Tribometer for Corrosive Environment, Reciprocating Tribometer, Microhardness Tester, Electroless Coating facility, Corrosion Test Setup, Tribometer for lubricated contact
-------------------------------------------------
Heat Power
-----------------------------------------------
Cross Flow Heat Exchanger Set Up, Natural Convection Set Up, Pin Fin Set Up, Set Up for Thermal Conductivity measurement of Insulating Powder, Set Up for Thermal Conductivity measurement of metal rod, Set Up for Emissivity measurement, Mini Power Plant Set Up, Petrol Engine Set Up (4 Cylinder), Two cylinder Diesel Engine, Single Cylinder Petrol Engine, Refrigeration Set-up (Vapour Compression), Refrigeration Set-up (Vapour Absorption), Cochran Boiler, John Thompson Boiler, Air conditioning Set Up
-------------------------------------------------
Metrology
-----------------------------------------------
Micrometers, Vernier caliper, Vernier height gauge, Depth gauge, Base tangent micrometer, Pointed micrometer, Gear tooth vernier caliper, Sine bar & Sine table, Slip gauge box in mm and inch, D.P. Gauge, 90° Clinometer, Radius gauge, Thickness gauge,Dial gauge with stand, Go-n-No Go thread plug gauge, Surface roughness tester, Talysurf Surtronic III+ (Taylor and Hobson)
-------------------------------------------------
Metallography
-----------------------------------------------
Versamate Metallurgical Microscope, Leica Metallurgical Microscope, Universal Trinocular Metallurgical Microscope, Olympus Metallurgical Microscope, Rockwell Hardness Tester, Sample
preparation facilities, including polishing and compacting etc, Multi Tribo Tester, 10″ × 5″ × 5″ Muffle furnace with PID controller, Precision balance BSA -2235
-------------------------------------------------
Blue Earth Machine Shop
-----------------------------------------------
58 Lathes, 5 Milling M/Cs, 20 Shapers, 5
Drilling M/Cs, 1 Slotting M/C, 10 Bench Vices, 2 Surface Plate, 1 Turrett Lathe, 2 Tool Grinders, 2 Sawing M/Cs, 1 Weighing M/C, 1 Hand press machine, 1 Tool Store
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Tribology
Fracture, Fatigue and Deformation Characterization
Combustion and Reacting Flow
Heat Transfer
Multiphase Flow
Motion Control Systems
Back To Top
library
The Departmental library has a collection of more than 15,000 books in different fields of Mechanical Engineering discipline and is a regular subscriber of about 140 engineering and technology journals of both national and international repute. The library has excellent facility of study room.
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
201719
201684
201591
2014 2
2014175
2013 1
2013247
2012165
2011146
2010 May1
2010161
2009 Dec.1
2009117
2008103
2007 Jan.1
200769
2006 Nov.1
2006 Dec.1
200683
200565
2004 Oct.1
2004 Feb.1
2004 Dec.1
200448
2003 Dec.1
200325
2002 Dec.1
200233
2001 Oct.1
2001 Dec.2
200122
2000 April1
200021
199919
1998 Oct.1
199813
199713
19969
19957
19946
19932
19922
19911
19883
19871
1985 Oct.1
19851
17
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20171
20151
20141
20133
20124
201111
20091
20081
20052
20041
20001
19981
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20161
20153
20131
20124
20114
20102
20091
20082
20073
20062
20044
20033
20023
20012
19994
19981
19972
19953
19941
19934
19921
19901
19871
19853
19831
19821
19801
19792
19771
19762
19741
13
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
Year1
20172
20168
2015 (Expected)3
20154
2014 (Expected)1
201417
201334
201226
2011-20161
201116
201011
2009-20131
20099
200815
2007-20111
200711
200617
2005-20091
200512
2004-20081
200413
20036
20023
20017
20004
19994
19983
19972
19962
19951
19941
19931
19162
18
Back To Top
Patents
Year Number
20161
20081
20071
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20061
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20172
20166
20152
20145
20136
20126
20113
201012
20098
200811
20078
200615
200515
20047
20033
20024
20012
20002
Back To Top