Previous Menu
Established in the year 1966, this department is now functioning from the second campus of the University, at Salt Lake. The department at present is conducting one undergraduate & one postgraduate course.

The undergraduate program is NBA accredited for the academic years 2023 - 2024 to 2025 - 2026 (up to 30.06.2026)
Head Of The Department : Dr. PROLAY SHARMA
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 11
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 11
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ardhendu Ghoshal
Ph.D.
033-23352587
aghoshal_ju@rediffmail.com | ardhendu.ghoshal@jadavpuruniversity.in
Semiconductor Devices,
Signal Processing.
Bipan Tudu
Ph.D.
03323352587
bipantudu@gmail.com | bipan.tudu@jadavpuruniversity.in
Machine Olfaction,Digital Image Processing,Computational Intelligence
Bivas Dam
Ph.D.
91-9331042314
b_dam@rediffmail.com | bivas.dam@jadavpuruniversity.in
FPGA based reconfigurable hardware design, Digital Signal Processing, Digital System Design
Kumardeb Banerjee
Ph.D.

kumardebb@rediffmail.com | kumardeb.banerjee@jadavpuruniversity.in
Digital Signal Processing, Embedded Systems
Rajanikanta Mudi
Ph.D.
033-23352587
rkmudi@yahoo.com | rajanikanta.mudi@jadavpuruniversity.in
Intelligent Control, Process Control, Computational Intelligence.
Rajib Bandyopadhyay
Ph.D.
09331038954
bandyopadhyay.rajib@gmail.com / rajib.bandyopadhyay@jadavpuruniversity.in
Electronic Nose and Tongue
Ratna Ghosh
Ph.D.
23352587
ratnand@gmail.com | ratna_g@hotmail.com | ratna.ghosh@jadavpuruniversity.in
Control Systems,
Filtering and estimation,
Signal Processing,
Bio-medical Instrumentation
RUNU BANERJEE ROY
Ph.D.
033-2335-2587
runuroy@yahoo.com | runu.banerjee@jadavpuruniversity.in
Instrumentation & Control
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Chandra
Ph.D.
033-23352587
abhijit922@yahoo.co.in | abhijit.chandra@jadavpuruniversity.in
Wireless & Mobile Communication, Digital Signal/Image Processing, Evolutionary Computation
Kalyan Majumdar
M.Tech
03323352587
km_ju@rediffmail.com | kalyan.majumder@jadavpuruniversity.in
Sensor Signal Processing, Intelligent Measurement Systems
PROLAY SHARMA
Ph.D.
03323352587
prolaysharma08@gmail.com | prolay.sharma@jadavpuruniversity.in
Digital Signal Processing, Communication Engg.,
Sankar Narayan Patra
Ph.D.

sankarn.patra@jadavpuruniversity.in / sankar..n.patra@gmail.com / sankar.journal@gmail.com
Discrete time signal analysis, Instrumentation, Astrophysical Data processing
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Shyamali Mitra
M.Tech

shyamalimitra.iee@jadavpuruniversity.in
Stochastic computing, image processing and microelectronics and vlsi
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
Bachelor of Instrumentation & Electronics Engineering (4 Years)57
Master of Technology in Instrumentation and Electronics Engineering (2 Years)10
Ph.D.
Back To Top
Research Activities
The faculty members have contributed significantly with publications in the esteemed International and National journals in different fields of Instrumentation and Electronics. Presently, active research is conducted in the fields of
Digital Signal Processing
Intelligent Control
ASIC Design
Motor Control
Speech Processing
Sensor Networks
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
• Instrument Workshop

• Optical Instrumentation Laboratory

• Process Instrumentation Laboratory

• Microprocessor Laboratory

• Power Electronics Laboratory

• Process Control Laboratory

• PC Laboratory

• Electronics Laboratory

• Research Laboratory – 3 Nos.
• Temperature calibrator (Fluke)

• Pressure gauge calibrator (Nagman)

• MicroXL – Distributed Control System (Yokogawa Blue Star)

• Series 90-30 Programmable Logic Controller (GE-Fanuc)

• Virtex – E series FPGA development system (Xilinx)

• DSP development kit for Texas Instrument TMS320X243 (Texas Instrument)

• DSP development kit for Texas Instrument TMS320X2407 (Texas Instrument)

• Circuit Maker PCB design kit (Software Options)

• TDS220 – Digital Storage Oscilloscope (Tektronix)

• 33120A – Function / Arbitrary Waveform Generator (Agilent Technologies)

• 54622D – Mixed Signal Oscilloscope (Agilent Technologies)

• EDA software – OrCAD (Cadence)

• Graphical Programming language – LabView (National Instruments)

• MATLAB (Mathworks)
Back To Top
Thrust Area
• Digital Signal Processing
• Intelligent Control
• ASIC Design
• Motor Control
• Speech Processing
• Sensor Networks
Back To Top
library
There are no separate departmental libraries in the Salt Lake Campus of our University. In the campus library, there are approximately 5000 departmental books.
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20241
202319
202235
202160
202043
20191
201949
201844
201737
201641
201531
201455
201331
201247
201130
201022
200918
200811
20078
20065
20055
20047
20032
20022
20011
20003
19995
19983
19973
1
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20231
20221
20211
20201
20192
20181
20172
20166
20145
20131
20122
20112
20101
20081
20041
20031
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20191
20151
20131
20111
20104
20081
20071
20061
20051
20011
19961
19921
19901
19861
19841
19811
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20231
20225
20216
20205
20198
201810
20177
20165
20152
20148
20136
2012-20131
20123
2011-20121
20113
20105
20094
20082
20072
20061
20051
20041
20001
9
Back To Top
Patents
Year Number
20221
20201
20181
19901
1
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20091
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20211
20204
20193
20181
20171
20163
20151
20143
20134
20121
20103
20092
20084
20041
20031
20021
Back To Top