Previous Menu
Established in 1956, this department has seen phenomenal growth in its activities over the last four decades. This has been duly recognized by the University Grants Commission in conferring successively the status of:

1. Department with Special Assistance (1973-87)

2. Department with COSIP Programme (1983-88)

3. Center of Advanced Studies (SAP) (1987- 2003)

4. Department with COSIST Programme (1991-96)

Under the FIST Programme of the DST, the Department received Rs. 1.3 crores (2001-2005).

The facilities currently available with this Department are largely a result of more than Rs. 5 Crores of support received through this recognition.

During 1973-82, the Department received recognition and generous grant (over Rs.2 crores) from the UNESCO through the United Nations Development Programme.

The Department tops the list of the Earth Science Departments of all the Universities in the country in , average scientific impact factor analysis carried out by the Government of India in 1999-2000.

Led by a team of 29 Faculty members, whose specialization covers all branches of Earth Sciences, this

Department has, over the years, produced top international-quality research and thoroughly motivated students, who occupy important positions in Indian Universities and research institutions, Government and Private sector enterprises and also in foreign universities and research institutions.

Truly this Department has moved from one pillar of strength to another through excellence in teaching and research.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Subrata Karmakar
Ph.: 2414-6214 (O)
Extn-2457-2268
E-mail: hod@geology.jdvu.ac.in

Syllabus of course work of phd

Research oriented course for Phd : Department-Geological Sciences

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 18
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Debasish Shome
Ph.D.
09432326571
dshome @geology.jdvu.ac.in
Coal geology, Sedimentology
Nibir Mandal
Ph.D.

nmandal@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Structural geology
Pulak Sengupta
Ph.D.
09748359495
psengupta @geology.jdvu.ac.in; pulaksg@gmail.com
Petrology, Geochemistry
Ranjit Kumar Majumdar
Ph.D.

rkmajumder @geology.jdvu.ac.in
Geophysics
Sanjoy Sanyal
Ph.D.
033-24166557
ssanyal@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Metamorphic Petrology
Sibendu Choudhuri
Ph.D.

schoudhury @geology.jdvu.ac.in
Coal Geology
Sisir Kanti Mondal
Ph.D.
0091-33-24572730
sisir.mondal@gmail.com / sisir@geology.jdvu.ac.in
*Geochemistry of Platinum-Group Elements (PGE).
*Petrology-Geochemistry of Ultramafic-Mafic Rocks.
*Petrology-Geochemistry of Magmatic Ore Deposits (PGE, Ni-sulfide, Chromite).
Sisir Kanti Nag
Ph.D.
033-2434 9446, 09433919962, 033-24146214, 033-2414-6781
nag_sk@yahoo.com / sknag@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Remote Sensing, Ground Water, Geophysics
Subhendu Bikash Bardhan
Ph.D.
9433182450
s_bardhan01@yahoo.co.uk / sbbardhan@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Evolutionary palaeobiology, biostratigraphy and palaeoecology
Subir Sarkar
Ph.D.
9432406174
ssarkar @geology.jdvu.ac.in
Sedimentology /Baisn Evolution/Sequence Stratigraphy
SUBIR MUKHOPADHYAY
Ph.D.
09831019790
smuk_jugeo@hotmail.com / smukhopadhyay@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Ore Geology and Micropaleontology
Subrata Karmakar
Ph.D.
033-24572366
skarmakar@geology.jdvu.ac.in / subrata.jugeol@gmail.com
Metamorphic Petrology, Mineralogy, Geochemistry
SUDIPTA SENGUPTA

ssengupta@geology.jdvu.ac.in
TAPAN KUMAR BAIDYA

tkbaidya@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Dipak C. Pal
Ph.D.
913324572724
dcpal@geology.jdvu.ac.in; dipak.pal@gmail.com
Ore geology, Geochemistry
Supriya Mondal
Ph.D.
24345988
supriya0509@rediffmail.com / smondal@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Rock-magnetism and Palaeomagnetism and Magnetic behaviour of Rocks.
Solid Earth Geophysics and Tectonics.
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Anupam Ghosh
Ph.D.

anupamghosh@geology.jdvu.ac.in / ghosh.anupam@gmail.com
Micropalaeontology (Foraminifera)
Babar Ali Shah

Sadhana M. Chatterjee

sadhana@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Soumik Mukhopadhyay

Sunipa Mandal

Susanta Chaudhuri
Ph.D.
9830991788
schaudhuri1997@gmail.com / schaudhuri@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Engineering Geology, Physical Sedimentology, Sediment Transport.
Susanta Kumar Samanta
Ph.D.
09433168050
sksamanta@geology.jdvu.ac.in
Structural Geology, Tectonics, Engineering Geology
Tridib Kumar Mondal
Ph.D.
0091-9476105610
tkmondal@geology.jdvu.ac.in / tridibkumarmondal@gmail.com
Structural Geology, Tectonics and
Rock Mechanics
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B. Sc. (Geology Honours) (3 Year)
M.Sc. (Applied Geology) (2 Year)
Back To Top
Research Activities
Books 5
Edited books /volumes 4
Research papers in International journals 65
Research papers in national journals 38
Nos. of Ph. D. in last five years 25
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
• Differential Thermal Analyser (SHIMADZUTA40, JAPAN) Laboratory.

• Palaeontology and Micropalaeontology Laboratory.

• Ore Geology Laboratory with sophisticated microscopes (LEITZ, Germany).

• Petrology Laboratory with sophisticated microscopes (LEITZ, Germany) and an Audio Visual facilities for classroom demonstration.

• Coal Geology Laboratory.

• Geophysical Laboratory with sophisticated instruments for Palaeomagnetic studies and Resistivity method.

• Petroleum Geology Laboratory.

• Experimental Structural Geology Laboratory for simulation studies.
Back To Top
library
In addition to our Central Library of the University, the Departmental Library possesses an excellent collection of about 1000 text books and a good number of journals and periodicals covering all branches of Geological Sciences.
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20163
20153
201415
201315
201214
201110
20109
20097
20082
20072
20063
20041
20031
20022
20011
19992
19981
1
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20071
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20161
20122
20114
20103
20091
20081
20063
20051
20041
20021
20012
20001
19972
19952
19891
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
Ongoing2
20164
20154
2014-20152
20144
20134
20125
20116
20105
20094
20051
8
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20147
20136
20125
20102
20091
20084
20074
20067
20022
20011
19991
19961
Back To Top