Previous Menu
The Department of Philosophy was chosen by the University Grants Commission as the nodal body for the interdisciplinary innovative programme of Cognitive Science in 1994 along with the Centre for Knowledge Based Systems and the School of Education Technology as partners.
From 2002, the above programme was taken up by an autonomous centre, the Centre for Cognitive Science, mainly for carrying out interdisciplinary collaborative research in the following areas: study of human cognitive abilities, development of new logics, cognitive and neuropsychology, and neuro-linguistics.

The Centre has been transformed to the School of Cognitive Science in August 2010.
Director Of School :
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 1
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Lopamudra Choudhury

Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Amrita Basu
+91 33 2414 6720 (off)
Cognitive Neuroscience of Language Perception, Auditory Perception, Bistability Perception
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
M.Phil (4 semesters)
Ph. D.
Back To Top