Previous Menu
The department of physics was established in 1956. Over the years, the department has developed into a significant Centre of academic activities involving different branches of Physics. It has acquired distinction as a Centre of Advanced Studies and Research in both theoretical and experimental Physics.
Head Of The Department : Prof Argha Deb
Ph: 033 24138917
Extn-2457-2448

Email: hod@phys.jdvu.ac.in

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 35
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ajay Kumar Ghosh
Ph.D.
913324138917
akg@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics
Alok Kumar Mukherjee
Ph.D.
2328
akm_ju@rediffmail.com
X-ray Crystallography
ANURADHA MUKHOPADHYAY (On Lien)

anuradha@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Aparajita Bhattacharya
Ph.D.

aparajita_bh@yahoo.co.in / pampa@phys.jdvu.ac.in
High Energy Physics,
Argha Deb
Ph.D.

adeb@phys.jdvu.ac.in
High Energy Physics
ASIM KUMAR GHOSH
Ph.D.
2134
asimkumar96@yahoo.com / asim@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics
Basudev Ghosh
Ph.D.
033-2457-2168
bsdvghosh@gmail.com / bghosh@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Plasma Physics;
Electronics.
Brajadulal Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
+91-9433343917
bdc_physics@yahoo.co.in / bdc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Biophysics, BioConcrete technology
Debasish Biswas
Ph.D.
+913324572170
db@phys.jdvu.ac.in, debasish_b@yahoo.com
Laser Spectroscopy, Atomic and Molecular Physics
Debasish Lohar
Ph.D.
9748513630
dlohar_atmos@yahoo.com / dlohar@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Atmospheric Science
Kalyan Kumar Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9433389445
kalyan_chattopadhyay@yahoo.com / kkc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Nanoscience and Technology, Semiconductors
Mridul Bose
Ph.D.

mbose@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Atmospheric Physics, Plasma Physics
Nabin Baran Manik
Ph.D.
03324831914
nb_manik@yahoo.co.in / nbm@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics, Instrumentation
and Photonics in PG Level
RUMA RAY
Ph.D.
033-2457-2629
ruma@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Sujata Tarafdar
Ph.D.
913324237540
sujata_tarafdar@hotmail.com / sujata@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics, Statistical Physics
Sukhen Das
Ph.D.
+919433091337
sukhendas29@gmail.com / sukhendas29@hotmail.com / sd@phys.jdvu.ac.in
X-ray Crystallography (Powder diffraction),Biophysics (Biological membrane),Glass and Ceramic Materials
Tapas Ranjan Middya
Ph.D.

tapas.middya@gmail.com / tapas_middya@yahoo.co.in / trmiddya@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics, Mathematical Physics, Polymer
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
AVIJIT MUKHERJEE
Ph.D.

avijit00@gmail.com / avijit@math.nagoya-u.ac.jp / amukherjee@phys.jdvu.ac.in
String Theory & Mathematical Physics
Jayoti Das
Ph.D.

jayoti@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Material Science and Solid Electronics
Joydeep Chowdhury
Ph.D.
91-33-24146666. Ext-2775
joydeepc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Molecular Spectroscopy
Mitali Mondal
Ph.D.

mitalimon@phys.jdvu.ac.in / mitalimon@gmail. com
Heavy Ion Physics Environmental Radioactivity
Pabitra Kumar Paul
Ph.D.
91-33-24146666. Ext-2891
pabitra_tu@yahoo.co.in or, pkpaul@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Material Science, Molecular and Biomolecular Spectroscopy, Langmuir-Blodgett thin Films,Layer-by-Layer electrostatic self-assembly of Organic, Inorganic and Biosensors.
Sanjay Kumar
Ph.D.

skumar@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics, Condensed Matter Physics (Expt), Material Physics (Nano-magnetism)
Subhankar Ray
Ph.D.
33-2414-6666-----2772
sray@phys.jdvu.ac.in, sray.ju@gmail.com
Theoretical Physics, Statistical Physics, Mathematical Physics
Sulava Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.

sulava@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics
Tapas Kumar Ballabh
Ph.D.

tkbjup@yahoo.co.in / tkb@phys.jdvu.ac.in
electronics,condensed matter physics,computer application in physics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Samanta
Ph.D.

abhijit.samanta@phys.jdvu.ac.in / as_ph1@yahoo.co.in
ABIRAL TAMANG

abiral.tamang@yahoo.com / atamang@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Biophysics
Condensed Matter Physics
Bharati Tudu
Ph.D.
033-24572841
bharati.ju@gmail.com / bharati_16@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics,Magnetism, X-ray scattering
Dhruba Banerjee

dbanerjee@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Dipankar Mandal
Ph.D.
2880
dipankar@phys.jdvu.ac.in / dpkrmandal@gmail.com
Materials Science & Technology , Organic Electronics, Photonics
Kaustuv Das
Ph.D.
+ 91 9433116177
kaustuv.das@phys.jdvu.ac.in / kaustuv12@gmail.com
Nanoscience and Technology, Material Science
Partha Pratim Ray
Ph.D.
033-24572844
partha@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Materials Science (Thin film devices - Schottky diode, Solar cell)
PUSPENDU SAHU
Ph.D.
91-33-2414-6666 Extn- 2840
psahu@phys.jdvu.ac.in
X-ray diffraction, Phase transformations in steels, Electron Back Scattered Diffraction, Grain Boundary Engineering
Saikat Kumar Seth
Ph.D.

skseth@phys.jdvu.ac.in / saikatim@yahoo.co.in
X-ray Crystallography and Crystal engineering
Sanat Karmakar
Ph.D.
2879
sanat@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Biophysics, Experimental Soft Condensed Matter Physics
SARMISHTHA MANDAL

sarmistha@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Sk. Saiyad Ali
Ph.D.

saiyad@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Cosmology
Soumen Mondal

soumen@phys.jdvu.ac.in
SUBHADIPTA MUKHOPADHYAY
Ph.D.
2168
phy.smukherjee@gmail.com
Electronics,Condensed Matter Physics
SUBRATA SARKAR

subrata@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B. Sc. (Honours) Physics (3 Year)55
M.Sc. in Physics (2 Year)36
M.Sc. in Physics (Evening) (3 Year)36
M. Sc. Electronics Science (2 Year) 12
Post M.Sc. Diploma in Medical Physics (2 Semester)12
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
B.sc.Physics(H) Syllabus
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Material science
Condensed Matter Physics
Biophysics
Particle Physics
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
201734
201670
201599
201482
201380
201269
201154
201056
200929
200828
200723
200626
200517
200416
200316
200210
200112
200012
199910
199810
199711
199610
19958
19942
19934
19923
19911
19893
19885
19874
19865
19854
19841
12
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20162
20151
20142
20131
20123
20103
20095
20082
20072
20062
20052
20042
20032
20021
20011
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20161
20153
20142
20132
20124
20103
20072
20061
20051
20042
20022
20002
19991
19963
19941
19911
19902
19883
19852
19824
19811
19802
19793
19771
19741
19722
5
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20172
20163
20156
20146
201314
20122
20111
20107
20093
20082
20073
20052
20042
20012
34
Back To Top
Patents
Year Number
20131
20105
20093
20032
20023
19951
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20141
20131
20083
20071
20041
20021
20001
19991
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
September 10-11 (2012)1
October 18 - 21(2010)1
October 14-19, 20121
May 2-6 (2011)1
March 24-25 (2011)1
June 28-29 (2011)1
26-27 June, 20141
20174
20166
20159
20146
201317
201217
201111
201019
20098
200812
20078
20062
20053
20048
20032
20021
19931
19891
19871
19831
3
Back To Top