Previous Menu
The department of physics was established in 1956. Over the years, the department has developed into a significant Centre of academic activities involving different branches of Physics. It has acquired distinction as a Centre of Advanced Studies and Research in both theoretical and experimental Physics.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Kalyan Kumar Chattopadhyay
Ph: 033 24138917
Extn-2457-2448

Email: hod@phys.jdvu.ac.in

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 36
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ajay Kumar Ghosh
Ph.D.
033 2457 2761
ajayk.ghosh@jadavpuruniversity.in / akg@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics
Argha Deb
Ph.D.

argha_deb@yahoo.com / adeb@phys.jdvu.ac.in
1. Heavy Ion Physics
2. Environmental Radioactivity
3. Radon Physics & Earthquake Precursory Studies
ASIM KUMAR GHOSH
Ph.D.
2134
asimk.ghosh@jadavpuruniversity.in / asimkumar96@yahoo.com
Condensed Matter Physics
Basudev Ghosh
Ph.D.
033-2457-2168
bsdvghosh@gmail.com / bghosh@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Plasma Physics;
Electronics.
Brajadulal Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
+91-9433343917
bdc_physics@yahoo.co.in / bdc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Biophysics, BioConcrete technology
Debasish Biswas
Ph.D.
+913324572170
db@phys.jdvu.ac.in, debasish_b@yahoo.com
Laser Spectroscopy, Atomic and Molecular Physics
Debasish Lohar
Ph.D.
9748513630
dlohar_atmos@yahoo.com / dlohar@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Atmospheric Science
Jayoti Das
Ph.D.
(033) 2414 6666 Extn 2877
jayoti.das@gmail.com / jayoti.das@jadavpuruniversity.in / jayoti@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Material Science and Solid Electronics
Joydeep Chowdhury
Ph.D.
+91-33-24146666 (Ext-2775)
joydeep.chowdhury@jadavpuruniversity.in / joydeep72_c@rediffmail.com / joydeepc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Molecular Spectroscopy.
Molecular Physics, Condensed Matter Physics and Material Science.
Kalyan Kumar Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9433389445
kalyan_chattopadhyay@yahoo.com / kkc@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Nanoscience and Technology, Semiconductors
Mitali Mondal
Ph.D.

mitalimon@phys.jdvu.ac.in / mitalimon@gmail. com
Heavy Ion Physics Environmental Radioactivity
Nabin Baran Manik
Ph.D.
03324831914
nb_manik@yahoo.co.in / nbm@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics, Instrumentation
and Photonics in PG Level
Pabitra Kumar Paul
Ph.D.
91-33-24146666. Ext-2891
pabitra_tu@yahoo.co.in or, pkpaul@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Material Science, Molecular and Biomolecular Spectroscopy, Langmuir-Blodgett thin Films,Layer-by-Layer electrostatic self-assembly of Organic, Inorganic and Biosensors.
Partha Pratim Ray
Ph.D.
033-24572844
parthap.ray@jadavpuruniversity.in
Materials Science (Thin film devices - Schottky diode, Solar cell)
PUSPENDU SAHU
Ph.D.
91-33-2414-6666 Extn- 2840
psahu@phys.jdvu.ac.in
X-ray diffraction, Phase transformations in steels, Electron Back Scattered Diffraction, Grain Boundary Engineering
RUMA RAY
Ph.D.
033-2457-2629
ruma@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Sanat Karmakar
Ph.D.
2879
sanat.karmakar@jadavpuruniversity.in / sanatkarmakar@gmail.com
Biophysics, Experimental Soft Condensed Matter Physics
Sanjay Kumar
Ph.D.

skumar@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics, Condensed Matter Physics (Expt), Material Physics (Nano-magnetism)
SUBHADIPTA MUKHOPADHYAY
Ph.D.
2168
phy.smukherjee@gmail.com
Electronics,Condensed Matter Physics
Sukhen Das
Ph.D.
+919433091337
sukhendas29@gmail.com / sukhendas29@hotmail.com / sd@phys.jdvu.ac.in
X-ray Crystallography (Powder diffraction),Biophysics (Biological membrane),Glass and Ceramic Materials
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
AVIJIT MUKHERJEE
Ph.D.

avijit00@gmail.com / avijit@math.nagoya-u.ac.jp / amukherjee@phys.jdvu.ac.in
String Theory & Mathematical Physics
Bharati Tudu
Ph.D.
033-24572841
bharati.ju@gmail.com / bharati_16@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Electronics,Magnetism, X-ray scattering
Kaustuv Das
Ph.D.
+ 91 9433116177
kaustuv.das@phys.jdvu.ac.in / kaustuv12@gmail.com
Nanoscience and Technology, Material Science
RABINDRA NATH GAYEN
Ph.D.

rgayen.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / rabin.gayen@gmail.com
Condensed matter physics
Saikat Kumar Seth
Ph.D.

skseth@phys.jdvu.ac.in / saikatim@yahoo.co.in
X-ray Crystallography and Crystal engineering
Sk. Saiyad Ali
Ph.D.

saiyad@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Cosmology
Soumen Mondal

soumen@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Sourav Bhattacharya

sbhatta.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / phy.sourav@gmail.com
Subhankar Ray
Ph.D.
33-2414-6666-----2772
sray@phys.jdvu.ac.in, sray.ju@gmail.com
Theoretical Physics, Statistical Physics, Mathematical Physics
SUBRATA SARKAR
Ph.D.

subrata.sarkar@jadavpuruniversity.in / subrata1998@gmail.com
Sulava Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.

sulava@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Condensed Matter Physics
Tapas Kumar Ballabh
Ph.D.

tkbjup@yahoo.co.in / tkb@phys.jdvu.ac.in
electronics,condensed matter physics,computer application in physics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Samanta
Ph.D.

abhijit.samanta@jadavpuruniversity.in / abhijit.samanta@gmail.com
ABIRAL TAMANG

abiral.tamang@yahoo.com / atamang@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Biophysics
Condensed Matter Physics
Animesh Layek
Ph.D.
+91-9051615302
alayek.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / alayek.phys@gmail.com
X-Ray Crystallography (X-Ray diffraction)
Chandan Maity
Ph.D.
(+91) 62943 92325
chandanmaity.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / chandan.maity1986@gmail.com
Nonlinear Plasma Physics (Theory)
Dhruba Banerjee

dbanerjee@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Kanan Kumar Datta

RITUPARNA MONDAL
Ph.D.
9804539832
rituparnam.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / rituparnaju2014@gmail.com
Sahinur Reja
Ph.D.

sahinurreja.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / sahinur007@gmail.com
SARMISHTHA MANDAL

sarmistha@phys.jdvu.ac.in
Soumyaditya Sutradhar

Sukhamoy Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.
+91 91435 46426
sukhamoyb.physics@jadavpuruniversity.in / sukhamoy.b@gmail.com
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B. Sc. (Honours) Physics (3 Year)55
M.Sc. in Physics (2 Year)36
M.Sc. in Physics (Evening) (3 Year)36
M. Sc. Electronics Science (2 Year) 12
Post M.Sc. Diploma in Medical Physics (2 Semester)12
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
B.sc.Physics(H) Syllabus
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Material science
Condensed Matter Physics
Biophysics
Particle Physics
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20216
202047
201958
201858
201761
201673
201594
201490
201388
201269
201149
201045
200925
200821
200720
200625
200516
200415
200318
200210
200112
200013
19998
19988
19979
19966
19958
19942
19933
19922
19911
19892
19883
19874
19861
19851
19841
11
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20201
20181
20171
20162
20142
20122
20103
20094
20082
20072
20063
20052
20042
20032
20021
20011
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20191
20161
20154
20144
20133
20124
20103
20072
20061
20051
20042
20022
20002
19991
19963
19941
19911
19902
19883
19852
19824
19811
19802
19793
19771
19741
2
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20211
20204
20197
201811
20172
201611
20154
20146
201315
20122
20111
20107
20093
20082
20073
20052
20042
20012
29
Back To Top
Patents
Year Number
20104
20093
20032
20023
20011
19951
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20141
20131
20083
20071
20041
20021
20001
19991
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
September 10-11 (2012)1
October 18 - 21(2010)1
October 14-19, 20121
May 2-6 (2011)1
March 24-25 (2011)1
June 28-29 (2011)1
26-27 June, 20141
20191
20174
20167
20159
20143
201311
201211
20116
201011
20095
20086
20073
20062
20053
20047
20031
20021
19931
19891
19871
19831
1
Back To Top