Previous Menu
This department is an important constituent of the Faculty of Science since 1956, the year when it was established, with its proficiency in taught programmes and strong research projects of excellence it has made significant contributions in the study of Mathematics in the country.

The Department has an interdisciplinary centre - Centre for Mathematical Biology and Ecology (CMBE)- established by the University in 1997.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Shamik Ghosh

Ph.: 033-2414-6717
Extn-2457-2269
E-mail: hod@math.jdvu.ac.in


National Conference on Emerging Trends in Physics of Fluids and Solids (NCETPFS-2016)

CIMPA - INDIA Research School On Geometric Flows at JU in Dec. 2016

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 22
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 1
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Lahiri

alahiri@math.jdvu.ac.in / lahiriabhijit2000@yahoo.com
Solid Mechanics
Alaka Das

adas@math.jdvu.ac.in / alaka_d@yahoo.com
Fluid Dynamics
Anup Bandyopadhyay
Ph.D.
9434968204
abandyopadhyay@math.jdvu.ac.in / abandyopadhyay1965@gmail.com
PLASMA DYNAMICS
Arindam Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.
09433949472
abhattacharya@math.jdvu.ac.in/ aribh22@hotmail.com / arin1968@indiatimes.com / aribh22@hotmail.com
Diffferential Geometry , Ricci flow , Computational Geometry
ASHISH KUMAR SARKAR

aksarkar@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology & Ecology
Bibhas Chandra Giri
Ph.D.
+ 91 33 24146717 (Office); + 91 9433766361 (Mobile)
bcgiri@math.jdvu.ac.in / bcgiri.jumath@gmail.com / bibhasc.giri@jadavpuruniversity.in
Operations Research: Inventory Theory, Supply Chain Management, Logistics
BUDDHADEB SAU
Ph.D.
919007806316
bsau@math.jdvu.ac.in , buddhadeb.sau@gmail.com
Computer Science, Localization of Wireless Ad-hoc Network
Dipak Kumar Kesh
Ph.D.

dkkesh@math.jdvu.ac.in / dkeshju@gmail.com
Mathematical Biology
Farook Rahaman
Ph.D.
9831907279
frahaman@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Physics, Relativity, Cosmology and
Astrophysics.
Kallol Paul
Ph.D.
9433207354
kpaul@math.jdvu.ac.in / kalloldada@gmail.com
Advanced Functional Analysis and Advanced Topology
Nandadulal Bairagi
Ph.D.
919433110781
nbairagi@math.jdvu.ac.in / nbairagi@yahoo.co.in
Mathematical ecology, Epidemiology, Host-pathogen interactions, Optimal harvesting of
biological resources, In-host HIV infection, Optimal control, Nonlinear dynamics, Delay-
differential equations, Discrete dynamical system and Systems biology.
PRABIR KUMAR KUNDU
Ph.D.
09433415434
kunduprabir@yahoo.co.in / pkkundu@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Methods, Fluid Mechanics, Dynamical Meteorology, Operations Research.
Prakash Chandra Mali
Ph.D.
9830069784
pcmali@math.jdvu.ac.in / Prakash19592000@yahoo.co.uk
Image Processing
Pratulananda Das
Ph.D.
919432091144
pratulananda@yahoo.co.in / pdas@math.jdvu.ac.in
Pure Mathematics (Set theoretic and General Topology, Analysis, Sequences and Summability Theory)
PRITI KUMAR ROY
Ph.D.
09432095603
pritiju@gmail.com / pritir@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology on Ecology with special emphasis on transmissible disease, modeling on disease Psoriasis, HIV, Enzyme Kinetics, Bio-diesel Production.
Shamik Ghosh
Ph.D.

sghosh@math.jdvu.ac.in / ghoshshamik@yahoo.com
Graph TheoryAbstract Algebra
Subenoy Chakraborty
Ph.D.
033-2414-6717
schakraborty@math.jdvu.ac.in / schakraborty.math@gmail.com
Mathematical Physics, Quantum Mechanics, General Relativity, Cosmology and Astrophysics.
Subhas Chandra Mandal
Ph.D.
9433070548
scmandal@math.jdvu.ac.in / scmandal.ju@gmail.com
Solid Mechanics(Crack & Contact Problems)
Sudeshna Banerjea
Ph.D.
09433010243
sbanerjee@math.jdvu.ac.in / sudeshna.banerjea@yahoo.co.in
Fluid Mechanics
Sujit Kumar Sardar
Ph.D.

sksardarjumath@gmail.com
Pure mathematics: Algebra / Linear Algebra--Semring Theory & its Generalization
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Gopal Chandra Shit
Ph.D.
09674839632
gcs@math.jdvu.ac.in, gopal_iitkgp@yahoo.co.in
Advanced Numerical Analysis, Bio-fluid Dynamics, Computational Fluid Dynamics(CFD), Computer Programming
Narayan Chandra Majee
Ph.D.

ncmajee@math.jdvu.ac.in / ncmajee2000@yahoo.com
Bio-Mathematics
Sagnik Sinha
Ph.D.
9830825275
ssinha@math.jdvu.ac.in / sagnik62@yahoo.co.in
Statistics and Operations Research, Game Theory
Sukhendu Kar
Ph.D.
9433315320
karsukhendu@yahoo.co.in / karsukhendu@math.jdvu.ac.in
Advanced Algebra.
Swapna Debnath
Ph.D.

sdebnath@math.jdvu.ac.in / swapnadebnathju@gmail.com
Mathematical Physics Quantum mechanics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Manasi Mandal

mmandal@math.jdvu.ac.in / manasi_ju@yahoo.in
Functional Analysis & Operator theory
Nilanjana Mahata
M.Sc
9434249582
nilanjana_mahata@yahoo .com / nmahata@math.jdvu.ac.in
General Relativity , Cosmology and Astrophysics
Santosh Biswas
03324572733
sant_biswas@yahoo.in / sant_biswasju@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.Sc (Hons) (3 Year)75
M. Sc. (Day) (2 year)60
M. Sc. (Evening) (3 year)60
Ph.D. (Doctoral Program enrollment under new regulations)32
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculums
B.Sc. Old
B.Sc. New
M.Sc.
Back To Top
Research Activities
The application of Ashtekar Variables in Quantum Cosmology and the Role of Loop Formalism
Mathematical Study of wave phenomena in ocean
Mathematical Modeling of Ecological and Environmental Systems
Departmental Special Assistance (DSA)
Book grant from National Board of Higher Mathematics
Main areas of research:
-----------------------------
1.Mathematical Physics
2.Operations Research
3.Fluid Mechanics
4.Solid Mechanics
5.Computer Science
6.Statistics
7.Graph Theory
8.Topology
9.Measure Theory
10.Functional Analysis
11.Algebra
12.Algebraic Geometry
13.Differential Geometry and
14.Bio-Mathematics
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
Number of Laboratories 4 (Four)

1. Post Graduate Computer Lab.(2nd Floor)
2. Advance Computing Lab. (2nd Floor)
3. Under Graduate Computer Lab. (3rd Floor)
4. Research Scholar Lab. (3rd Floor)
Software - Mathematica,Matlab,Maple, Statistica (Original Version).
------------------------------------------------
Others - Fully air conditioned Exam Hall, Seminar Room, and well equipped Class Rooms.
Back To Top
library
Reach Departmental Library with online Journal Accessibility.
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20186
201718
201620
201535
201440
201346
201250
201135
201032
200931
200830
200720
200620
200529
200421
200321
200218
200115
200013
19994
19985
19971
19962
3
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20181
20171
20163
20141
20131
20122
20112
20101
20082
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20181
20172
20165
20154
20141
20133
20123
20111
20102
20071
20011
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20173
201611
20159
20149
20136
201214
20115
201011
20091
20084
20072
20061
20051
20041
20031
20021
12
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20165
20144
20134
20122
20101
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
September 5-9, 20031
May 22nd -26th , 20081
May 18th -21st, 20081
March 8-11, 2011 1
March 20111
March 17-April 08, 20031
June 25-28, 20091
June 21-25, 20091
June 14-17, 20091
June 10-12, 20091
January 6-9, 20031
February 20111
December 28, 2001- January 20, 20021
December 20101
December 2009 1
30th June-2nd July 20101
23rd -25th August, 20091
2014, 21st-23rd Nov1
2014, 17th-19th Nov. 1
2013, 14-16th March 1
20131
2012, 11-14th January 1
20121
2011, 13-14th January1
20103
20092
2008, 17-20th March 1
20081
20071
2005, November1
19th-27th August 20101
19th – 21st February 20041
12th – 15th December 2006 1
1
Back To Top