Previous Menu
This department is an important constituent of the Faculty of Science since 1956, the year when it was established, with its proficiency in taught programmes and strong research projects of excellence it has made significant contributions in the study of Mathematics in the country.

The Department has an interdisciplinary centre - Centre for Mathematical Biology and Ecology (CMBE)- established by the University in 1997.
Head Of The Department : Prof Prakash Chandra Mali

Ph.: 033-2414-6717
Extn-2457-2269
E-mail: hod@math.jdvu.ac.in


NWCDMA 2014

NCETPFS – 2014
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 23
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 1
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
ASHISH KUMAR SARKAR

aksarkar@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology & Ecology
PRABIR KUMAR KUNDU
Ph.D.
09433415434
kunduprabir@yahoo.co.in / pkkundu@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Methods, Fluid Mechanics, Dynamical Meteorology, Operations Research.
Pradip Kumar Sen
Ph.D.
9830210830
pksen@math.jdvu.ac.in
Statistics/ Probability/ Stochastic Process/ O.R./Bio-informatics
Prakash Chandra Mali
Ph.D.
9830069784
pcmali@math.jdvu.ac.in
Image Processing
Shamik Ghosh
Ph.D.

sghosh@math.jdvu.ac.in
Graph TheoryAbstract Algebra
Subenoy Chakraborty
Ph.D.
033-2414-6717
schakraborty@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Physics, Quantum Mechanics, General Relativity, Cosmology and Astrophysics.
Sudeshna Banerjea
Ph.D.
09433010243
sbanerjee@math.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Mechanics
Tapasendra Basu
Ph.D.

tbasu@math.jdvu.ac.in
Topology, Differential Geometry, Operations Research
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Abhijit Lahiri
91-9830821204
alahiri@math.jdvu.ac.in lahiriabhijit2000@yahoo.com
Solid Mechanics
Anup Bandyopadhyay
Ph.D.
9434968204
abandyopadhyay@math.jdvu.ac.in
PLASMA DYNAMICS
Arindam Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.
09433949472
abhattacharya@math.jdvu.ac.in/ aribh22@hotmail.com / arin1968@indiatimes.com
Diffferential Geometry , Ricci flow , Computational Geometry
Bibhas Chandra Giri

bcgiri@math.jdvu.ac.in
Operations Research
BUDDHADEB SAU
Ph.D.
919007806316
bsau@math.jdvu.ac.in , buddhadeb.sau@gmail.com
Computer Science, Localization of Wireless Ad-hoc Network
Dipak Kumar Kesh
Ph.D.

dkkesh@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology
Farook Rahaman
Ph.D.
9831907279
frahaman@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Physics, Relativity, Cosmology and
Astrophysics.
INDRA NATH SENGUPTA

indranath_sg@math.jdvu.ac.in
Kallol Paul
Ph.D.
9433207354
kpaul@math.jdvu.ac.in
Advanced Functional Analysis and Advanced Topology
Nandadulal Bairagi
Ph.D.
919433110781
nbairagi@math.jdvu.ac.in
Applied Mathematics (Mathematical Biology)
Narayan Chandra Majee
Ph.D.

ncmajee@math.jdvu.ac.in
Bio-Mathematics
Pratulananda Das
Ph.D.

pdas@math.jdvu.ac.in
Functional Analysis
PRITI KUMAR ROY
Ph.D.
09432095603
pritiju@gmail.com / pritir@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology on Ecology with special emphasis on transmissible disease, modeling on disease Psoriasis, HIV, Enzyme Kinetics, Bio-diesel Production.
Sagnik Sinha
Ph.D.
9830825275
ssinha@math.jdvu.ac.in
Statistics and Operations Research, Game Theory
Subhas Mandal
Ph.D.
9433070548
scmandal@math.jdvu.ac.in
Solid Mechanics(Crack & Contact Problems)
Sujit Kumar Sardar
Ph.D.

sksardarjumath@gmail.com
Pure mathematics: Algebra / Linear Algebra--Semring Theory & its Generalization
Swapna Debnath
Ph.D.

sdebnath@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Physics Quantum mechanics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Alaka Das

adas@math.jdvu.ac.in
Fluid Dynamics
Gopal Chandra Shit
Ph.D.
09674839632
gcs@math.jdvu.ac.in, gopal_iitkgp@yahoo.co.in
Advanced Numerical Analysis, Bio-fluid Dynamics, Computational Fluid Dynamics(CFD), Computer Programming
Manasi Mandal

mmandal@math.jdvu.ac.in
Functional Analysis & Operator theory
Nilanjana Mahata
M.Sc
9434249582
nilanjana_mahata@yahoo .com / nmahata@math.jdvu.ac.in
General Relativity , Cosmology and Astrophysics
Nita Tamang
9832055401
nita_anee@yahoo.in / ntamang@math.jdvu.ac.in
Santosh Biswas
03324572733
sant_biswas@yahoo.in / sant_biswasju@math.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Biology
Sukhendu Kar
Ph.D.
9433315320
karsukhendu@yahoo.co.in / karsukhendu@math.jdvu.ac.in
Advanced Algebra.
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.Sc (Hons) (3 Year)75
M. Sc. (Day) (2 year)60
M. Sc. (Evening) (3 year)60
Ph.D. (Doctoral Program enrollment under new regulations)32
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculums
M.Sc.
B.Sc.
Back To Top
Research Activities
The application of Ashtekar Variables in Quantum Cosmology and the Role of Loop Formalism
Mathematical Study of wave phenomena in ocean
Mathematical Modeling of Ecological and Environmental Systems
Departmental Special Assistance (DSA)
Book grant from National Board of Higher Mathematics
Main areas of research:
-----------------------------
1.Mathematical Physics
2.Operations Research
3.Fluid Mechanics
4.Solid Mechanics
5.Computer Science
6.Statistics
7.Graph Theory
8.Topology
9.Measure Theory
10.Functional Analysis
11.Algebra
12.Algebraic Geometry
13.Differential Geometry and
14.Bio-Mathematics
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
Number of Laboratories 4 (Four)

1. Post Graduate Computer Lab.(2nd Floor)
2. Advance Computing Lab. (2nd Floor)
3. Under Graduate Computer Lab. (3rd Floor)
4. Research Scholar Lab. (3rd Floor)
Software - Mathematica,Matlab,Maple, Statistica (Original Version).
------------------------------------------------
Others - Fully air conditioned Exam Hall, Seminar Room, and well equipped Class Rooms.
Back To Top
library
Reach Departmental Library with online Journal Accessibility.
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20156
201431
201342
201245
201132
201030
200928
200827
200719
200617
200522
200417
200317
200217
200111
200011
19993
19982
3
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20131
20122
20112
20101
20082
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20132
20123
20111
20102
20071
20011
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
Started in 20101
2014 (Awarded)2
20148
2013 (Awarded)1
20134
201210
20116
20108
20083
20072
20061
20041
20021
8
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20144
20134
20122
20101
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
September 5-9, 20031
May 22nd -26th , 20081
May 18th -21st, 20081
March 8-11, 2011 1
March 20111
March 17-April 08, 20031
June 25-28, 20091
June 21-25, 20091
June 14-17, 20091
June 10-12, 20091
January 6-9, 20031
February 20111
December 28, 2001- January 20, 20021
December 20101
December 2009 1
30th June-2nd July 20101
23rd -25th August, 20091
2014, 21st-23rd Nov1
2014, 17th-19th Nov. 1
2013, 14-16th March 1
20131
2012, 11-14th January 1
20121
2011, 13-14th January1
20103
20092
2008, 17-20th March 1
20081
20071
2005, November1
19th-27th August 20101
19th – 21st February 20041
12th – 15th December 2006 1
1
Back To Top