Previous Menu
This Department came into existence in August, 1950 with Prof. Ramaranjan Mukherjee as the Head of the Department. During his tenure, the department attained wide reputation for teaching and research excellence.

The Department was accorded the distinction of SAP by UGC. It has been chosen to offer Refresher Courses with a further proposal to open a Centre for Indology.
Head Of The Department : Prof Tapan Sankar Bhattacharyay
Ph.: 2414-6115 (O)
Extn-2457-2254
E-mail: hod@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 10
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Bijoya Goswami
Ph.D.
2479 1236
bgoswami@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Literature
* Literary Criticism
* Indian Linguistics
Debarchana Sarkar
Ph.D.
9903475662
sarkar.debarchana@yahoo.in / dsarkar@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Ancient Indian History and Epigraphy, Paleography, Manuscriptology, Buddhist Literature, Literature and Literary Criticism, Historical Geography of Ancient India
Lalita Sengupta
Ph.D.
2418 4852
lsengupta@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Vedanta and Kavya
Piyali Praharaj
Ph.D.
9874248877
ppraharaj@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Dharmashastra
Rita Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9433445566
ritarbu@hotmail.com / rchattopadhyay@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Literature and Literary Criticism, Modern Sanskrit Literature, Poetics and Dramaturgy
Sarbani Ganguli
Ph.D.
2412 5578
sargan19@gmail.com / sganguly@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Literary Criticism
* Grammar
* Indian Philosophy (Nyaya-Vaisesika)
Tapan Sankar Bhattacharyay
D.Lit
09432113352
tapansankarbhattacharyya@yahoo.co.in / tsbhattacharyya@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Nyaya, Vaishesika, Vedanta, Mimamsa, Paninian Grammar
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Chinmay Mandal
Ph.D.
09830911438
chinmayjadavpur@yahoo.com / cmandal@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Nyaya-vaishesika, Paninian system of Sanskrit Grammar.
DEBDAS MANDAL

dmandal@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
KAKALI GHOSH
Ph.D.
9433025956
kakalicalcutta@yahoo.com / kghosh@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Vedanta, Sanskrit Buddhist Narrative Literature, Paninian & Non-Paninian Grammar, Manuscriptology.
SHIULI GHOSH
Ph.D.
9434348485
ghosh.shiuli@rediffmail.com / sghosh@sanskrit.jdvu.ac.in
Literature
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declare at the time of admission
Back To Top
Research Activities
DSA Projects on literature, Philosophy of Language and Philosophy
Anviksa : A Research production being published every year.
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Literary Criticism and Philosophy of Language
Epigraphy
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20091
20071
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20111
201010
20095
20081
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20081
20001
19991
19981
19792
19772
19742
19711
19002
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20073
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20102
20091
20071
20061
20051
Back To Top