Previous Menu
The Department of Philosophy, Jadavpur University. was established. in 1964. The renowned Prof. Gopinath Bhattacharya had been the first Head of the Department of Philosophy and under his guidance, the best scholars of the country were recruited as the faculty members of the department. As a result, from the very beginning this department has flourished.

The Department has introduced an innovative syllabus, with equal emphasis on the Indian and Western branches of Philosophy. Such a syllabus along with the adoption of new methods of teaching, marked a wide departure from the practices of other universities.
Head Of The Department : Dr. ATASHEE CHATTERJEE Nee SINHA
Extn- 2457-2252
Email-
hod@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 8
No. of teachers with M.Tech/M. Phil. as the highest qualification 2
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
ATASHEE CHATTERJEE Nee SINHA
Ph.D.

atashee2003@yahoo.com / acnsinha@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Applied Ethics, Meta Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Philosophy of Language
Gangadhar Kar

gkar@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Lopamudra Choudhury
Ph.D.
24146044
choudhuryl@yahoo.com / lchoudhury@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Mathematical Logic, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Cognition, Cognitive Psychology
Madhumita Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9830402068
mchattopadhyay@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Logic, (Western and Buddhist Logic)
Piyali Palit

ppalit@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Indian Philosophy
Proyash Sarkar
Ph.D.
03324168876
proyash@rediffmail.com / psarkar@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Epistemology: Indian and Western, Feminist Epistemologists, Philosophical Issues Concerning Varna and Caste
Ratna Datta Sharma
Ph.D.

rdsharma@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Indian Philosophy
Rupa Bandhopadhyay

rbandhopadhyay@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Sadhan Chakraborty (on Lien)

schakraborty@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Aparajita Mukhopadhyay

aparajitam@phil.jdvu.ac.in
DIPAYAN PATTANAYAK

dpattanayak61@gmail.com / dipayan@phil.jdvu.ac.in
NYAYA-VAISESIKA,TAGORE,VIVEKNANDA,
JHUMA CHAKRABORTY

jchakraborty@phil.jdvu.ac.in
SASHINUNGLA
Ph.D.

sashi.phil@gmail.com
Environmental Philosophy, Tribal Culture, Feminist philosophy
Soumitra Basu

sbasu@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Philosophy of Language
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
ARUN MAHATA

amahata@phil.jdvu.ac.in
GARGI GOSWAMI

ggoswami@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Gopi Nath Mondal (on Lien)
M.Phil.

gnm_ju_phil@yahoo.com / gnmondal@phil.jdvu.ac.in
INDIAN PHILOSOPHY,SOCIAL AND POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY, CONTEMPORARY INDIAN PHILOSOPHY
MADHUCCHANDA SEN

msen@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Maitreyee Datta

mdatta@phil.jdvu.ac.in
MAUSHUMI GUHA
M.Phil.

mguha@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Rubai Saha

rsaha@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Samar Kumar Mondal
Ph.D.
9434182501
samar_phil@rediffmail.com / samardwip100@gmail.com / skmondal@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Metaphysics(Western),Phenomenology
SMITA SIRKER (on Lien)
Ph.D.
24146044
smita_icpr@yahoo.co.in / ssirker@gmail.com / ssirker@phil.jdvu.ac.in
Philosophy of Mind and Cognition
Back To Top
Departmental Recognition
Year Recognition Recognized By
1977Department of Special AssistanceUGC
1984Centre of Advanced Study (Phase I)UGC
2010Centre of Advanced Study (Phase IV)UGC
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A. (Hons)50
M.A. (Day)65
M.A. (Evening)50
M.Phil15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declare at the time of admission
Mphil in Cognitive Science
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Mind, Language and Value with Special Reference to 20th Century Thinkers (Indian and Western)
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
2014 1
20123
20111
20101
20081
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20121
20092
Back To Top