Previous Menu
The Department that started its academic career with just one student in the undergraduate level, on the very first year of its coming into existence in 1956, has now developed into a prestigious faculty with excellent achievements in the fields of teaching and research. The Department can boast of a rich legacy of eminent faculty members such as Prof. Nemai Sadhan Bose and Prof. Sushobhan Sarkar.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Rupkumar Barman
Ph.: 2414-6962 (O)
Extn-2457-2401
E-mail: hod@history.jdvu.ac.in
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 13
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Amit Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.

amit_bh200405@yahoo.com / abhattacharya@history.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Indian Economic History/
Business and Politics/ History of Modern China/ Social History of Science and Technology/ Civil Rights Movement
Anuradha Roy
Ph.D.

anuradhaju@gmail.com / aroy@history.jdvu.ac.in
Intellectual and Cultural History of Modern India
Kaushik Roy
Ph.D.
9836387675
kroy@history.jdvu.ac.in; kroymilhist@yahoo.com
Military History and Counter-insurgency
Mahua Sarkar
Ph.D.
+91 9874112688
mahua40@rediffmail.com / msarkar@history.jdvu.ac.in
1. SOCIAL AND CULTURAL HISTORY OF MODERN INDIA, WITH PARTICULAR REFERENCE TO BENGAL,
2. ENVIRONMENTAL HISTORY - METHOD, HISTORIOGRAPHY, CRISES, ENVIRONMENTAL POLITICS,
3. SCIENCE, MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH,
4. CLIMATE AND POLLUTION,
5. MAN-ANIMAL CONFLICT AND THE ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUES,
6. HISTORY OF FORESTS AND LANDSCAPES,
7. HISTORY OF DISASTERS, ENVIRONMENTAL MOVEMENTS,
8. ENVIRONMENT AND THE TRIBAL WORLD, CRIMINALITY, DISPLACEMENT AND WITCHCRAFT.
Nupur Dasgupta
Ph.D.

nupurdasgupta@yahoo.com / ndasgupta@history.jdvu.ac.in
Ancient Indian History and Archaeology/ Social History of Science and Technology
Ranjan Chakraborty (on Lien)
Ph.D.

ranjan.chakrabarti@gmail.com / rchakraborty@history.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Indian Social and Political History/ Crime Studies/ Environmental History/ American Studies
Rupkumar Barman
Ph.D.

rupkumarbarman@gmail.com / rkbarman@history.jdvu.ac.in
1) Modern Indian History
2) Dalit and Tribal Studies
3) Human Rights
4) Refugee, Migration and Displacement Studies
5) International Relations
6) Environmental History
Subhasis Biswas
Ph.D.

subhasis30@yahoo.com / sbiswas@history.jdvu.ac.in
Environmental History/ History of USA
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
SUDESHNA BANERJEE

sudeshna2403@yahoo.co.uk / sbanerjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Chandrani Banerjee Mukherjee
Ph.D.

cbanerjeein@yahoo.co.in / cbanerjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
Ancient Indian Social History/ Women’s History in Ancient India
DEBAJIT DUTTA

Maroona Murmu
Ph.D.

maroonam@gmail.com / mmurmu@history.jdvu.ac.in
Gender Studies/Socio-cultural History of Bengal/Modern India
SAMARPITA MITRA
Ph.D.

smitra@history.jdvu.ac.in
SOCIAL, CULTURAL AND POLITICAL HISTORY OF COLONIAL BENGAL / PRINT CULTURE IN COLONIAL SOUTH ASIA
Samir Das
9832306634
samirdas.hist.ju@gmail.com / samirdas@history.jdvu.ac.in
1.Social History Of The Margins-Colonial And Post-Colonial India..2.Social History Of Early India.
Suchetana Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.

suchetana.chattopadhyay@gmail.com / schattopadhyay@history.jdvu.ac.in
Political, Economic and Social History of Modern India/ Communism in India/Colonial Surveillance/ Urban Social History
Tilottama Mukherjee
Ph.D.

tmukherjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
18th-century Bengal/ Medieval and Early Modern India/ Early Modern Economic History
UTSA RAY

Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A. (Hons)50
M.A. (day)65
M.A. (evening)
M.Phil15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declared at the time of admission
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
HISTORY (Extra Departmental Course)
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Research Activities
UGC-SAP Programme:
Thrust areas: History of Environment, and Science.
Individual faculty members have different research interests - see profiles.
Back To Top
library
Departmental Library: 10,000 plus books, journals
Back To Top
Departmental Site
www.historyju.org
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20132
20126
20112
20101
20095
200810
20075
20061
20011
20002
19991
19971
19961
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20162
201410
20135
20124
20115
20102
20091
20083
20078
20061
20042
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20121
20091
20071
20062
19992
19981
19821
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20162
20151
20141
201310
20128
20114
20091
20081
20051
4
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20161
20131
20092
20073
20061
20051
Back To Top