UGC  Login
ACADEMIC


 
Department :: History
 
The Department that started its academic career with just one student in the undergraduate level, on the very first year of its coming into existence in 1956, has now developed into a prestigious faculty with excellent achievements in the fields of teaching and research. The Department can boast of a rich legacy of eminent faculty members such as Prof. Nemai Sadhan Bose and Prof. Sushobhan Sarkar.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Anuradha Roy
Ph.: 2414-6962 (O)
Extn-2457-2401
E-mail: hod@history.jdvu.ac.in
 
Faculty Summary
Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 10
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Amit Bhattacharyya
Ph.D.

amit_bh200405@yahoo.com / abhattacharya@history.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Indian Economic History/
Business and Politics/ History of Modern China/ Social History of Science and Technology/ Civil Rights Movement
Anuradha Roy
Ph.D.

anuradhaju@gmail.com / aroy@history.jdvu.ac.in
Intellectual and Cultural History of Modern India
Mahua Sarkar

mahua40@rediffmail.com / msarkar@history.jdvu.ac.in
Nupur Dasgupta
Ph.D.

nupurdasgupta@yahoo.com / ndasgupta@history.jdvu.ac.in
Ancient Indian History and Archaeology/ Social History of Science and Technology
Ranjan Chakraborty
Ph.D.

ranjan.chakrabarti@gmail.com / rchakraborty@history.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Indian Social and Political History/ Crime Studies/ Environmental History/ American Studies
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Kaushik Roy

kroy@history.jdvu.ac.in
Rupkumar Barman
Ph.D.

rkbarman@ir.jdvu.ac.in
Subhasis Biswas
Ph.D.

subhasis30@yahoo.com / sbiswas@history.jdvu.ac.in
Environmental History/ History of USA
SUDESHNA BANERJEE

sudeshna2403@yahoo.co.uk / sbanerjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Chandrani Banerjee Mukherjee
Ph.D.

cbanerjeein@yahoo.co.in / cbanerjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
Ancient Indian Social History/ Women’s History in Ancient India
Maroona Murmu
Ph.D.

maroonam@gmail.com / mmurmu@history.jdvu.ac.in
Gender Studies/Socio-cultural History of Bengal/Modern India
SAMARPITA MITRA

smitra@history.jdvu.ac.in
Samir Das
9832306634
samirdas.hist.ju@gmail.com / samirdas@history.jdvu.ac.in
1.Social History Of The Margins-Colonial And Post-Colonial India..2.Social History Of Early India.
Suchetana Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.

suchetana.chattopadhyay@gmail.com / schattopadhyay@history.jdvu.ac.in
Political, Economic and Social History of Modern India/ Communism in India/Colonial Surveillance/ Urban Social History
Tilottama Mukherjee
Ph.D.

tmukherjee@history.jdvu.ac.in
18th-century Bengal/ Medieval and Early Modern India/ Early Modern Economic History
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A. (Hons)50
M.A. (day)65
M.A. (evening)
M.Phil15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declared at the time of admission
Back To Top
Specialization (Subject) Offered In U.G. Level
Specialization
Medieval Indian History
Modern Indian History
European History
Ancient Indian HIstory
Back To Top
Specialization (Subject) Offered In P.G. Level
Specialization
Themes on Early Indian Society and Religion: (upto the Thirteenth Century).
Politics in Bengal, 1911-1947.
Social History of Modern India: A Society in Transition.
History of the United States, 1775-1850.
European History: Russia, Socialism and the Russian Revolution.
Pre-colonial and Colonial Economy: Business Communities, Markets and Maritime Empires, 15th to 18th century.
Social History of Science and Technology in India: Pre-colonial Phase.
Technology and Warfare till 1700 CE: A Global Perspective.
Early Indian Political Ideas and Institutions.
Regional History – The Functioning of the State in Eastern India in the Late Medieval/ Early Modern Period.
Social History of Modern India: Colonialism, Nationalism and Beyond.
Twentieth Century US.
Capitalism, Modernisation and the Instability of Liberal Hegemony in Western Europe.
Economic Changes in Colonial India: A case study of Bengal.
Social History of Science and Technology: Magic, Science, Religion and Belief from the Ancient World to the Scientific Revolution.
The Rise of British Empire in a Global Perspective: Warfare, Technology and Societies in Transition 1700-1850.
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculums
List of MPhil/Phd courses
List of PG courses
List of UG courses
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
HISTORY (Extra Departmental Course)
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Research Activities
UGC-SAP Programme:
Thrust areas: History of Environment, and Science.
Individual faculty members have different research interests - see profiles.
Back To Top
library
Departmental Library: 10,000 plus books, journals
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20081
20071
20061
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20091
20061
19992
19981
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20121
20081
20051
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20092
20071
20061
20051
Back To Top