UGC  Login
ACADEMIC


 
Department :: Economics
 
The Department of Economics, established in the year 1956, is recognised nationwide for its importance in the teaching excellence and prospective research activities. Prof. Amartya Sen, the Welfare Economist and Nobel Laureate began his career both as a teacher and a research scholar in the Department of Economics, Jadavpur University. The teaching and research activities of the department in different fields have impressed the UGC. and consequently it has helped the department to set up a Centre for Regional Economic Studies under the Special Assistance Programme in 1987. In 2005 the Department of Economics became the 4th Centre of Advanced Studies (CAS) in Economics in India.
Head Of The Department : Prof Prabirjit Sarkar

Ph.: 2414-6328 (O)
Extn-2457-2226
E-mails:hod@economics.jdvu.ac.in

Planning & Development Unit
 
Faculty Summary
Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 24
No. of teachers with M.Tech/M. Phil. as the highest qualification 1
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ajitava Raychaudhuri
Ph.D.
983047 3868
ajitava_rc@economics.jdvu.ac.in, ajitava1@vsnl.net, ajitava1@gmail.com
Development Economics, International Trade and Econometrics
Ambar Nath Ghosh
Ph.D.
9830495102
anghosh@economics.jdvu.ac.in, ghosh_ambar12@rediffmail.com
Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Micro-foundation of Macroeconomics.
Basabi Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
9830337210
bbhattacharya@economics.jdvu.ac.in, Basabi54@gmail.com
Financial Economics, International Economics, Human Development
Bhaswar Moitra
Ph.D.
2472-9608 9831414355
bhaswar.moitra@gmail.com / bmoitra@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Advanced Microeconomics, Game Theory, Development Economics, Economics of Information.
Bipul Malakar
Ph.D.
9433285627
bmalakar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, Bipul.malakar@yahoo.com
Regional Economics, Applied Economics, Econometrics
Biswajit Chatterjee
9830499173
bchatterjee@economics.jdvu.ac.in, chatterjeeb@vsnl.net, biswajit3@hotmail.com
Macro Economics, Development Economics, International Economics
Gautam Gupta
Ph.D.
91-33-2473-6911
gautamju@yahoo.com / ggupta@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Econometrics
Environmental Economics and Valuation of Non-Market services
Experimental Economics
Joyashree Roy
Ph.D.
0091-33-64147760
jroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, joyashreeju@gmail.com
Resource & Environmental Economics, Economics of Climate Change, Quantitative Methods in Economics
Prabirjit Sarkar
Ph.D.
24572102
prabirjit@gmail.com & psarkar@economics.jdvu.ac.in
International Trade and Finance
Rajat Acharyya
Ph.D.
23586116- 9831273244
racharya@economics.jdvu.ac.in, rajat.acharyya@gmail.com
International Economics, Economic Theory, Health Economics
Siddhartha Mitra
Ph.D.
919038002290
mitsid@yahoo.com / smitra@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Development Economics, Agricultural and Environmental Economics, Peace Economics
Tuhin Kumar Das
Ph.D.
2577-3890
tkdas@economics.jdvu.ac.in, tuhinkdas@vsnl.net
Computational method, Optimization Technique, Interdisciplinary Science
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Amit Kundu
Ph.D.
9830505312
akundu29@gmail.com, akundu1970@rediffmail.com / akundu@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Development Economics, Labour Economics Rural Economics
Arpita Ghose (Dhar)
Ph.D.
24250818
adhar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, dhararpita@yahoo.co.in, dhararpita@hotmail.com
Econometrics, Macroeconomics, Trade and development
Jugaratan Barman
Ph.D.
24350987
jbarman@economics.jdvu.ac.in, jugaratanb@hotmail.com
Econometrics & Resource Economics
Malabika Roy
Ph.D.
03324237881
mroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, malabikar@gmail.com
Industrial Organization , Financial Economics and Issues related to Economic Development
Saikat Sinha Roy
Ph.D.
919830432344
ssroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, saikat.sinharoy@gmail.com
Trade and Development, Open Economy Macroeconomics, Applied Economics
Sushil Kumar Haldar
Ph.D.
9433332098
skhaldar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, haldarsk2002@yahoo.co.in
Econometrics, Demography
Swapnendu Banerjee (Bandyopadhyay)
Ph.D.
9330606340
swapnendu@hotmail.com / swapnendu@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Game Theory, Economics of Contracts, Information Economics, Microeconomic Theory
Tanmoyee Bannerjee
Ph.D.
9830568145
tbnchatterje@economics.jdvu.ac.in, tanmoyee@hotmail.com
International Trade, Industrial Organisation, West Bengal Economy
Vivekananda Mukherjee
Ph.D.
23599290
vmukherjee@economics.jdvu.ac.in, mukherjeevivek@hotmail.com, vivekju@yahoo.com
Microeconomics, Public Economics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Asim Kumar Karmakar
Ph.D.

akkarmakar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, asimkkarmakar@yahoo.co.in
Bidisha Chakraborty
Ph.D.
9830614285
bidisha.chakraborty@gmail.com / bidisha@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Growth theory
Poulomi Roy
Ph.D.
033-24308610
poulomi.roy@gmail.com / poulomi@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Public Economics, Development Economics
Sanmitra Ghosh
M.Phil.
91-33-25224426
sanmitra@economics.jdvu.ac.in, sanmitraz@gmail.com
New Political Economy, Applied Econometrics
Soma Mandal
9433438878
smondal@economics.jdvu.ac.in, smsomamandal@gmail.com
Econometrics
Vikas Dixit
Ph.D.
03324146328
vikas_alig@rediffmail.com / vdixit@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Public Finance
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A.65
M.A.65
M.Phil.15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declared at the time of admission
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculums
ED Syllabus 2013
Revised Syllabus
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
ED
Honours
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Research Activities
SANEI 1 year
SANDEE 2 years
World Bank-IGIDR 2 years
World Bank-IGIDR 1 year
UGC Minor Research Project 1 year
W.B. Pollution Control Board 1 year
OECD/IEA, Paris 1 year
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Development
International trade
Energy
Environment
Agriculture
Regional Economics
Population Studies
Industry
Game Theory
Economics of Contracts
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
21022
20131
201210
20117
20108
200912
20088
20079
200618
20058
20048
20037
20022
20012
20005
19992
19984
19953
19942
19891
5
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20131
20101
20071
20061
20051
20041
20031
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20061
20041
20031
20012
19992
19982
19971
3
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20112
20101
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20101
20091
20081
20071
20061
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20122
20112
20103
20093
20083
20071
20066
20054
20043
20033
20021
20011
Back To Top