Previous Menu
The Department of Economics, established in the year 1956, is recognised nationwide for its importance in the teaching excellence and prospective research activities. Prof. Amartya Sen, the Welfare Economist and Nobel Laureate began his career both as a teacher and a research scholar in the Department of Economics, Jadavpur University. The teaching and research activities of the department in different fields have impressed the UGC. and consequently it has helped the department to set up a Centre for Regional Economic Studies under the Special Assistance Programme in 1987. In 2005 the Department of Economics became the 4th Centre of Advanced Studies (CAS) in Economics in India.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Arpita Ghose (Dhar)

Ph.: 2414-6328 (O)
Extn-2457-2226
E-mails:hod@economics.jdvu.ac.in

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 17
No. of teachers with M.Tech/M. Phil. as the highest qualification 1
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 1
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ajitava Raychaudhuri
Ph.D.
919830473868
ajitava.raychaudhuri@jadavpuruniversity.in / ajitava1@gmail.com
Development Economics, International Trade and public Finance
Ambar Nath Ghosh
Ph.D.
9830495102
anghosh@economics.jdvu.ac.in, ghosh_ambar12@rediffmail.com
Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Micro-foundation of Macroeconomics.
Amit Kundu
Ph.D.
9830505312
akundu29@gmail.com, akundu1970@rediffmail.com / akundu@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Development Economics, Labour Economics Rural Economics
Arpita Ghose (Dhar)
Ph.D.
24250818
adhar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, dhararpita@yahoo.co.in, dhararpita@hotmail.com
Econometrics, Macroeconomics, Trade and development
Joyashree Roy
Ph.D.
0091-33-64147760
jroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, joyashreeju@gmail.com
Resource & Environmental Economics, Economics of Climate Change, Quantitative Methods in Economics
Malabika Roy
Ph.D.
03324237881
mroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, malabikar@gmail.com
Industrial Organization , Financial Economics and Issues related to Economic Development
Rajat Acharyya
Ph.D.
23586116- 9831273244
racharya@economics.jdvu.ac.in, rajat.acharyya@gmail.com
International Economics, Economic Theory, Health Economics
Saikat Sinha Roy
Ph.D.
919830432344
ssroy@economics.jdvu.ac.in, saikat.sinharoy@gmail.com
Applied Trade and Development, Open Economy Macroeconomics, Trade Modelling, Applied Economics
Siddhartha Mitra
Ph.D.
919038002290
mitsid@yahoo.com / smitra@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Development Economics, Agricultural and Environmental Economics, Peace Economics
Sushil Kumar Haldar
Ph.D.
9433332098
skhaldar@economics.jdvu.ac.in, haldarsk2002@yahoo.co.in
Econometrics, Demography
Swapnendu Banerjee (Bandyopadhyay)
Ph.D.
9330606340
swapnendu@hotmail.com / swapnendu@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Game Theory, Economics of Contracts, Information Economics, Microeconomic Theory
Tanmoyee Bannerjee
Ph.D.
9830568145
tbnchatterje@economics.jdvu.ac.in, tanmoyee@hotmail.com
International Trade, Industrial Organisation, West Bengal Economy
Vivekananda Mukherjee
Ph.D.
23599290
vmukherjee@economics.jdvu.ac.in, mukherjeevivek@hotmail.com, vivekju@yahoo.com
Microeconomics, Public Economics
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Jugaratan Barman
Ph.D.
24350987
jbarman@economics.jdvu.ac.in, jugaratanb@hotmail.com
Econometrics & Resource Economics
Sanmitra Ghosh
M.Phil.
91-33-25224426
sanmitra@economics.jdvu.ac.in, sanmitraz@gmail.com
New Political Economy, Applied Econometrics
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Bidisha Chakraborty
Ph.D.
9830614285
bidisha.chakraborty@gmail.com / bidisha@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Growth theory
Poulomi Roy
Ph.D.
033-24308610
poulomi.roy@gmail.com / poulomi@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Public Economics, Development Economics, gender studies, health economics
Rilina Basu

Simontini Das

Soma Mandal
M.A.
9433438878
smondal@economics.jdvu.ac.in, smsomamandal@gmail.com
Econometrics
Vikas Dixit
Ph.D.
03324572160
vikas_alig@rediffmail.com / vdixit@economics.jdvu.ac.in
Public Finance
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A.65
M.A.65
M.Phil.15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declared at the time of admission
Back To Top
Research Activities
SANEI 1 year
SANDEE 2 years
World Bank-IGIDR 2 years
World Bank-IGIDR 1 year
UGC Minor Research Project 1 year
W.B. Pollution Control Board 1 year
OECD/IEA, Paris 1 year
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Development
International trade
Energy
Environment
Agriculture
Regional Economics
Population Studies
Industry
Game Theory
Economics of Contracts
Finance
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20161
20152
20149
201310
201215
201110
20108
20096
20087
20079
200617
20057
20048
20035
20022
20012
20005
19991
19984
19954
19944
19921
19901
19891
8
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20161
20142
20134
20121
20101
20071
20061
20052
20041
20031
20011
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20071
20061
20041
20031
20012
19992
19982
19971
19961
19861
19841
19781
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20142
2013-Till Date1
2013 (Completed)2
20134
2012-Till Date1
20121
20112
2010-Till Date1
20101
20074
20042
20022
20012
20001
19972
19962
19951
2
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20071
20051
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20131
20123
20113
20103
20093
20083
20071
20067
20054
20043
20033
20021
20011
Back To Top