Previous Menu
The Department of Comparative Literature (Comp. Lit.) was started in the year 1956 and enjoys the reputation of a distinguished department to offer a subject which is distinct not only in India, but also in Asia. For the last two decades, the department has widened its sphere of learning to all-important Indian languages for comparative studies. It also exerts special emphases on African, Latin American and Australian Literature that are otherwise neglected in the taught programmes of the major departments of the Indian Universities.

The Department of Comp. Lit. is renowned for its originality nationwide and serves as an exemplary model for other Universities as well. It seeks to incorporate a wide range of subjects and issues under its purview, an approach which is highly conducive for a multi- lingual, pluri-religious country like India.

The faculty members of this department has had the presence of such personalities like Buddhadev Bose, Sudhindranath Dutta, Naresh Guha, Alokeranjan DasGupta, Pranabandhu DasGupta, Manabendra Bandyopadhyay, Amiya Dev, Subir Roychowdhury and Nabaneeta DevSen. The department attracted educationists from abroad like Father Robert Antoine, Father Pierre Fallon of the Society of the Jesuits and David J. McCutchion, who have proved themselves as prolific Bengali scholars. The department has widened its area of interest to include African Literature, Latin American Literature, Canadian Literature and Literature of Bangladesh.
Head Of The Department : Dr. Samantak Das
Phone: +91-33-2414-6690
Fax:
Extn: 2457-2223/2158
Email:hod@comlit.jdvu.ac.in

Web Address

Jadavpur Journal of Comparative Literature (JJCL)



Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 8
No. of teachers with First class Master Degree as the highest qualification 4
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ipshita Chanda (on Lien)
Ph.D.

pixybee@gmail.com / ichanda@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Comparative Literature Methodology, Literary and Oral Cultures, Popular and ‘Classical’; Focus Areas: India and Africa.
Kavita Panjabi
Ph.D.
24850077
kavitapanjabi@gmail.com / kpanjabi@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Oral Narratives, Testimonial Literatures, Latin American Literatures, Feminist Studies, Contemporary Indian Literatures,Critical Theory, Comparative Cultural Studies
Kunal Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.

kunal.chattopadhyay@gmail.com / kunal.c@complit.jdvu.ac.in
European Socialist Movements/ Russian and Soviet Studies/ Radical Politics in India/ Social History of Science and Technology/ Gender Studies
Samantak Das
Ph.D.
09434212841
kokopeli@gmail.com, samantak@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Sucheta Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
09831123613
sucheta.b@complit.jdvu.ac.in , sucheta.bhattacharya@gmail.com
Victorian literature
translation studies
19th century Bangla literature
Suchorita Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
919831205770
suchoritachattopadhyay@yahoo.com / schattopadhyay@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Canadian Literature, Diasporic Literature, Southeast Asian Literature, Translation Studies, European Literature
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Aveek Majumdar (on Lien)
M.A.

aveekmster@gmail.com / amajunder@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Bangla Sahitya, Translation Studies, Indian Aesthetics, Kabita, Literatures of the Third World
Debashree Dattaray
Ph.D.

debashreedattaray@gmail.com / ddattaray@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Comparative Literature Methodology, Canadian Studies, Indigenous studies, Oratures
Epsita Halder

epsita.halder@gmail.com / ehalder@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Narratology, Performance Studies, Cultural Studies
Parthasarathi Bhaumik
M.A.
9434210081
bhaumikps@gmail.com / psbhaumik@complit.jdvu.ac.in
English Literature, Nineteenth-Century Bangla Literature
Sayantan Dasgupta
Ph.D.

dasgupta.sayantan@gmail.com / sdasgupta@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Comparative Literature, Translation Studies, Modern South Asian Literature and Culture
Sujit Kumar Mandal
M.A.
9432661243
sujitkumar.mandal@gmail.com / skmandal@complit.jdvu.ac.in
Tagore and Translation, Oratures, European Literatures, Performance Studies
Sumit Kumar Barua
M.A.

baruasumit3@gmail.com
Tagore Studies, Adhunik Bangla Sahitya, Narrative, Literature of Bangladesh
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A.50
M.A. (Day)65
MPhil15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declare at the time of admission
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Research Activities
The manuscript of Annotated Bibliography of Epics in Ancient India
The project on the compilation of core texts on Historiography, Genology, and Thematology
Project on Bibliography of Historics of Indian Literature
Project on the annotated bibliography of different forms of Katha and akhyayika in early Indian literature.
Project on the Oral History of the IPTA
Project on the Reception of Bangla Literature in Assam
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Indian literatures
Inter-Indian Translation
Preparation of Course material
Back To Top
library
No. of books: 7776 + gift books 1635 = 9411
Journals-National:6
International:5
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
20141
20071
20061
20053
20022
20011
20001
19991
19981
1997-981
19972
1996-971
19962
19941
19931
19903
1989-901
19882
1987-881
19871
1986-871
19851
19842
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20141
20131
20122
20114
20103
20091
20074
20062
20056
20041
20035
20022
19931
19891
19881
19872
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20131
20122
20112
20102
20092
20071
20001
19821
19801
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20134
20122
20112
20091
20084
20071
20041
20032
19971
19941
11
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20142
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20141
20135
20121
20113
20101
20092
20082
20073
20061
20051
20041
20011
19921
19901
19861
19801
19781
Back To Top