UGC  Login
ACADEMIC


 
Department :: Chemistry
 
The department of Chemistry was founded in the year 1956 and since then it has steadily developed into a leading centre of research and teaching in Jadavpur University. It has acquired the status of being chosen for the DSA and COSIST Programmes of the UGC. The areas of taught courses and research that comprise this department include Organic, Inorganic, Physical, Analytical & theoretical branches of Chemistry.
Head Of The Department : Prof SUBHASH CHANDRA BHATTACHARYYA
Ph.: 2414-6223(O)
Extn-2457-2267
E-mail: hodjuchemistry@gmail.com
hod@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in

Section-in-Charge:

Inorganic Chemistry
Dr. Subratanath Koner
Ph.:
E-mail:snkoner@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in

Organic Chemistry
Dr. Umesh Chandra Halder
Ph.:  
E-mail:  

Physical Chemistry
Professor Dr. Ambikesh Mahapatra
Ph.: 9433468795(M)
E-mail:amahapatra@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Achievement of Department of Chemistry in the International Year of Chemistry
 
Faculty Summary
Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 32
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ambikesh Mahapatra
Ph.D.
9433468795
ambikeshju@gmail.com
Physical Chemistry, Chemical Kinetics
Asok Kumar Mallik
Ph.D.
2354 8284 (R)
akmallik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic & Mechanistic Organic Chemistry
Chittaranjan Sinha

csinha @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Dilip Kumar Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2481 2586 (R)
dkbhattacharyya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry
KALYAN K MUKHERJEA
Ph.D.
09831129321
1.k_mukherjea@yahoo.com 2.kkmukherjee@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
INORGANIC CHEMISTRY-Bioinorganic Chemistry, Cancer Research , Biomimetic Catalysis
Kalyan Kumar Das
Ph.D.
91-33-24572107
kkdas@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry
Quantum Chemistry
Computational Chemistry
Kaushik Das
2411 0052 (R)
kdas@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry / Electrochemistry / Electrode Kinetics
Lakshmi Narayan Datta
2484 4156 (R)
lndutta@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Mahammad Ali
Ph.D.
033-24843602
mali@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Nitin Kumar Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9433948648
nitin.chattopadhyay@yahoo.com
Physical Chemistry / Spectroscopy & Photochemistry
Pratik Kumar Sen
Ph.D.
2414 6666
pksen@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Chemical Kinetics
Micellar Catalysis
Rajib Lal De

rlde @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Organicmetalic cluster and coordination complexes
Rina Ghosh
2413 6281 (R)
rghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Organic Chemistry (Carhdrate Chemistry)
Rupendranath Banerjee
Ph.D.
2555 1665 (R)
rnbanerjee@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Reaction Mechanism
Samaresh Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2431 0998 (R)
sbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Samiran Mitra
Ph.D.
033 2414 6666(extn. 2779)
smitra@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic, coordinatino & solid state Chemistry
Somnath Ghosh
2455 2868 (R)
sghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Subhagata Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
2464 9673 (R)
schattopadhyay@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
SUBHASH CHANDRA BHATTACHARYYA
Ph.D.
033-2414- 6223
scbhattacharyya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in // sbjuchem@yahoo.com
Subrata Mukhopadhyay
Ph.D.
2546 1508 (R),2556 6552 (R)
smukhopadhyay@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic chemistry
Reaction mechanism
Swadesh Ranjan Raychowdhury
Ph.D.
2412 9315 (R)
srroychoudhury@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic & Mechanistic Organic Chemistry
Swapan Kumar Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2425 0559 (R)
skbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry
Solution Chemistry ( Thermodynamics, Kinetics)
Electrochemistry
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Biplab Bhattacharjee
Ph.D.
2411 9468 (R)
bbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Theoretical Chemistry
Statistical Mechanics
Computer Simulation Studies (Molecular Dynamics, Monte Carlo)
GOURHARI MAITI

Jnan Prakash Naskar

jpnaskar @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Kajal Krishna Rajak
Ph.D.
033-2457-2780
kkrajak@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Coordination Chemistry
Pradip Kumar Mahapatra
Ph.D.
9433257808
mppradip@hotmail.com, mppradip12@gmail.com, pkmahapatra@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Bio-Physical Chemistry
Sanjay Bhar
Ph.D.
91-033-22415930 (R)
sanjay_bhar@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Subratanath Koner
Ph.D.
913324572778
snkoner@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Molecular Magnetism
Heterogeneous Catalysis
Mesoporous Materials
Sujoy Baitalik
Ph.D.
0332414-2032
sujoyb@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Back To Top
Readers
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Kausikisankar Pramanik
94330 15045
kpramanik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Amrita Saha

asaha@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Arup Gayen
Ph.D.
8697671002
agayenju@yahoo.com
Physical Chemistry
BIBHUTI BHUSHAN SHOW

Chandan Kumar Mondal
Ph.D.
9836262198
pcckm@yahoo.co.in, ckmondal @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry/
Theoretical Chemistry
Debajyoti Ghoshal
Ph.D.
(033) 2414 6666/6194. Ext.2682
dghoshal@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Partha Roy
Ph.D.

icroy@yahoo.com
Inorganic Chemistry
Partha Pratim Parui
(91-33) 2414 6666 (Extn. 2776), 91-9433490492
parthaparui@yahoo.com
Saubhik Haldar
Ph.D.
09830817306
s.haldar@rediffmail.com
Bioorganic Chemistry
Supramolecular Chemistry
Design and synthesis of organic soft materials
Saurabh Das
Ph.D.
8902087756
dasrsv@yahoo.in; sdas@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
SHOUVIK CHATTOPADHYAY
Ph.D.
033-2414-6194
shouvik.chem@gmail.com
Inorganic Chemistry
Soumen Ghosh
Ph.D.
033-2414 6411 (O)
soumenghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry / Surface Chemistry
SUMAN DAS

TANURIMA BHAUMIK
Ph.D.
91-033-24146666 (Ext. 2535)
tbhaumik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in; tanurimabhaumik@gmail.com
Organic Chemistry
TAPAN KUMAR MONDAL
Ph.D.
9831637108
tkmondal@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in; tkmondal_ju@yahoo.com
1.Coordination and Organometallic Chemistry.
2. Catalysis.
3. Redox properties and electronic structure.
4. Computational chemistry (DFT, TDDFT, NBO calculations).
UMASISH JANA

Umesh Chandra Halder

uchalder @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.Sc. (3 years)50
M.Sc. (Day)(2 years)35
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
Physical Chemistry Laboratory Perkin Elmer Elements Analyser
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Boton NMR Spectrometer
Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory Nanosecond Fluorimeter
Analytical Chemistry Laboratory UV-NIS –near IR Spectrophotometer
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Photochemistry and Spectroscopy
Synthetic and Structural Inorganic Chemistry
Organometallic Chemistry
Co- ordination Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry : Statistical Mechanical Studies of Condensed System,
Quantum Mechanical Studies on small Molecules
Kinetics and Reaction Mechanism with Special Reference to Electron
Transformer Reaction
Solution Chemistry and Electrochemistry
Synthetic Organic Chemistry : Carbocyclics and Hetero Cyclic
Carbohydrate Chemistry: Polysaccharides, Glycoproteins
Solvent Extraction Of Metals of Strategic Importance
Chromatographic Separations
Photochemistry and Spectroscopy
Synthetic and Structural Inorganic Chemistry
Organometallic Chemistry
Co- ordination Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry : Statistical Mechanical Studies of Condensed System,
Quantum Mechanical Studies on small Molecules
Kinetics and Reaction Mechanism with Special Reference to Electron
Transformer Reaction
Solution Chemistry and Electrochemistry
Synthetic Organic Chemistry : Carbocyclics and Hetero Cyclic
Carbohydrate Chemistry: Polysaccharides, Glycoproteins
Solvent Extraction Of Metals of Strategic Importance
Chromatographic Separations
Computation of large molecules: ground and excited states
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
201435
201376
201263
20111
201148
201043
2009 1
200968
200842
200755
200655
200537
200436
200328
200214
200113
200013
199916
199810
199710
19969
19957
19945
19939
19922
199116
199018
19896
19886
19873
19867
19851
19841
19832
5
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20102
20081
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20141
20132
20121
20101
20092
20081
20063
20051
20032
20021
19991
19981
19971
19952
19941
19922
19912
19901
19891
19881
19862
19853
19841
19821
19801
19793
19781
19772
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20142
201313
2012-1
20129
2011-1
20118
2010-20143
201019
2009-1
20098
20088
20073
2006-20121
2006-20103
200610
20057
20046
2003-20071
2003-20061
2003-200121
20032
20025
20012
20001
19982
19961
19952
19931
19921
19881
19871
11
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
201013
20092
20071
20051
20021
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20137
20125
20114
201010
20099
200811
20078
20068
20057
20048
20034
20027
20015
20005
19991
19981
19971
19962
19951
19941
1
Back To Top