Previous Menu
The department of Chemistry was founded in the year 1956 and since then it has steadily developed into a leading centre of research and teaching in Jadavpur University. It has acquired the status of being chosen for the DSA and COSIST Programmes of the UGC. The areas of taught courses and research that comprise this department include Organic, Inorganic, Physical, Analytical & theoretical branches of Chemistry.
Head Of The Department : Prof Kalyan Kumar Das
Ph.: 2414-6223(O)
Extn-2457-2267
E-mail: hodjuchemistry@gmail.com
hod@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in

Section-in-Charge:

Inorganic Chemistry
Prof. Kajal Krishna Rajak
Ph.:
E-mail:kkrajak@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in

Organic Chemistry
Dr. Umasish Jana
Ph.:  
E-mail:  

Physical Chemistry
Prof. Soumen Ghosh
Ph.: 
E-mail:
Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 33
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Ambikesh Mahapatra
Ph.D.
9433468795
ambikeshju@gmail.com
Physical Chemistry, Chemical Kinetics
Asok Kumar Mallik
Ph.D.
2354 8284 (R)
akmallik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic & Mechanistic Organic Chemistry
Chandan Kumar Mondal
Ph.D.
9836262198
pcckm@yahoo.co.in, ckmondal @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry/
Theoretical Chemistry
Chittaranjan Sinha

csinha @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
GOURHARI MAITI

Jnan Prakash Naskar

jpnaskar @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Kajal Krishna Rajak
Ph.D.
033-2457-2780 / 9830905167 / 9433366012
kkrajak@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in / kajalrajak@gmail.com / kajalrajak@rediffmail.com
Coordination Chemistry
Kalyan Kumar Das
Ph.D.
2107
kkdas@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry
Quantum Chemistry
Computational Chemistry
Kausikisankar Pramanik
Ph.D.
08910935661 / 9433366013
kpramanik@hotmail.com kpramanik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Mahammad Ali
Ph.D.
033-24843602
mali@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Nitin Kumar Chattopadhyay
Ph.D.
9433948648
nitin.chattopadhyay@yahoo.com
Physical Chemistry / Spectroscopy & Photochemistry
Rina Ghosh
2413 6281 (R)
rghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Organic Chemistry (Carhdrate Chemistry)
Samaresh Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2431 0998 (R)
sbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Sanjay Bhar
Ph.D.
91-033-22415930 (R)
sanjay_bhar@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Somnath Ghosh
2455 2868 (R)
sghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Soumen Ghosh
Ph.D.
033-2414 6411 (O)
soumenghosh@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry / Surface Chemistry
SUBHASH CHANDRA BHATTACHARYYA
Ph.D.
033-2414- 6223
scbhattacharyya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in // sbjuchem@yahoo.com
Subrata Mukhopadhyay
Ph.D.
2546 1508 (R),2556 6552 (R)
smukhopadhyay@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic chemistry
Reaction mechanism
Subratanath Koner
Ph.D.
913324572778
snkoner@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Molecular Magnetism
Heterogeneous Catalysis
Mesoporous Materials
Sujoy Baitalik
Ph.D.
03324572032
sujoyb@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Swapan Kumar Bhattacharya
Ph.D.
2425 0559 (R)
skbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Physical Chemistry
Solution Chemistry ( Thermodynamics, Kinetics)
Electrochemistry
Umesh Chandra Halder

uchalder @chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Biplab Bhattacharjee
Ph.D.
2411 9468 (R)
bbhattacharya@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Theoretical Chemistry
Statistical Mechanics
Computer Simulation Studies (Molecular Dynamics, Monte Carlo)
Partha Roy
Ph.D.

icroy@yahoo.com
Inorganic Chemistry
Partha Pratim Parui
Ph.D.
+91 33 2457 2776 (Off) 09433490492 (Mob)
parthaparui@yahoo.com
Physical Chemistry, Bio-physical Chemistry etc.
Pradip Kumar Mahapatra
Ph.D.
9433257808
mppradip@hotmail.com, mppradip12@gmail.com, pkmahapatra@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Bio-Physical Chemistry
Saurabh Das
Ph.D.

dasrsv@yahoo.in; sdas@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
TAPAN KUMAR MONDAL
Ph.D.
03324572970/9831637108
tapank.mondal@jadavpuruniversity.in / tkmondal@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in / tkmondal_ju@yahoo.com
Metal carbonyls and catalysis
Organometallic chemistry of Platinum Group Metals
Study of metal mediated organic transformation reactions
DFT Computation and electronic structure
Metal ion sensors
UMASISH JANA

Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Amit Saha
Ph.D.
+91-9433950204
amit.saha@jadavpuruniversity.in / amitsahaiacs@yahoo.co.in
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
Amrita Saha
Ph.D.
+91-9836660224
asaha@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in / amritasahachemju@gmail.com / amritaa74@hotmail.com
Inorganic Chemistry
Arunabha Thakur
Ph.D.
9937760940
arunabha.thakur@jadavpuruniversity.in / babuiitm07@gmail.com
Organic Chemistry
Arup Gayen
Ph.D.
8697671002
agayenju@yahoo.com
Physical Chemistry
BIBHUTI BHUSHAN SHOW

Debajyoti Ghoshal
Ph.D.
(033) 2414 6666/6194. Ext.2682
dghoshal@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Inorganic Chemistry
Mohabul Alam Mondal
Ph.D.
9647548599
mohabula.mondal@jadavpuruniversity.in
Organic Chemistry, Carbohydrate Chemistry, Heterocyclic Chemistry
Partha Mahata
Ph.D.
9734764274
parthachem@gmail.com
Inorganic Chemistry, X-ray Crystallography, Photochemistry, Solid State Chemistry
Samit Guha
Ph.D.
9163750994
samit.guha@jadavpuruniversity.in / samitfsu@gmail.com
Organic Chemistry
Saubhik Haldar
Ph.D.
09830817306
s.haldar@rediffmail.com
Bioorganic Chemistry
Supramolecular Chemistry
Design and synthesis of organic soft materials
SHOUVIK CHATTOPADHYAY
Ph.D.
033-24572941
shouvik.chem@gmail.com; souvik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in
Coordination Chemistry
SUMAN DAS

Tanurima Bhaumik
Ph.D.
03324572926 (Office)
tbhaumik@chemistry.jdvu.ac.in / tanurimabhaumik@gmail.com
Organic Chemistry/Synthetic Organic chemistry/Synthesis of optically pure potentially bioactive natural and unnatural molecules from chiral pool precursors
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.Sc. (3 years)58
M.Sc. (Day)(2 years)40
M.Sc. (Eve) (3 years)35
Back To Top
Laboratories Equipment
  Laboratories Equipment
Common Instrumental Facilities X-ray Single Crystal Diffractometer
High Resolution Mass Spectrometer
300 MHz NMR Spectrometer
Nano Second Fluorimeter
Electro-Chemistry System
X-ray Powder Diffractometer
UV-VIS –near IR Spectrophotometer
EPR Spectrometer
CD Spoectrometer
HPLC
GC
Computation Facility
IR Spectrometer
Perkin Elmer Elements Analyser
Fluorimeter
Stopped Flow Spectrometer
Thermal Analyzer
Back To Top
Thrust Area
Photochemistry and Spectroscopy
Synthetic and Structural Inorganic Chemistry
Organometallic Chemistry
Co- ordination Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry : Statistical Mechanical Studies of Condensed System,
Quantum Mechanical Studies on small Molecules
Kinetics and Reaction Mechanism with Special Reference to Electron
Transfer Reaction
Solution Chemistry and Electrochemistry
Synthetic Organic Chemistry : Carbocyclics and Hetero Cyclic
Carbohydrate Chemistry: Polysaccharides, Glycoproteins
Solvent Extraction Of Metals of Strategic Importance
Chromatographic Separations
Photochemistry and Spectroscopy
Synthetic and Structural Inorganic Chemistry
Organometallic Chemistry
Co- ordination Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry : Statistical Mechanical Studies of Condensed System,
Quantum Mechanical Studies on small Molecules
Kinetics and Reaction Mechanism with Special Reference to Electron
Transformer Reaction
Solution Chemistry and Electrochemistry
Synthetic Organic Chemistry : Carbocyclics and Hetero Cyclic
Carbohydrate Chemistry: Polysaccharides, Glycoproteins
Solvent Extraction Of Metals of Strategic Importance
Chromatographic Separations
Computation of large molecules: ground and excited states
Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Catalysis
Bioinorganic Chemistry
Biophysical Chemistry
Bioorganic Chemistry
Back To Top
Paper Published
Year Number
201814
201761
201682
201580
2014101
201392
201279
20111
201152
201053
2009 1
200977
200852
200765
200662
200545
200441
200326
200223
200120
200014
199921
199811
199711
199610
19958
19946
19939
19922
199116
199018
19896
19886
19873
19867
19851
19841
19832
9
Back To Top
Book Published
Year Number
20102
20081
Back To Top
Awards and Honours
Year Number
20162
20156
20144
20133
20121
20111
20102
20092
20081
20062
20051
20041
20032
20021
19991
19981
19971
19952
19941
19922
19912
19891
19881
19862
19853
19841
19821
19793
19772
Back To Top
PHD Thesis Completed
Year Number
20182
201710
201615
201520
201414
201323
201211
2011-20161
2011-1
201110
2010-20141
201014
2009-20131
20097
20087
20072
2006-20121
2006-20103
20067
20056
20045
2003-20081
2003-20071
2003-200121
20031
20022
20011
19991
19981
19961
24
Back To Top
Patents
Year Number
20161
20131
Back To Top
Collaborative Programs
Year Number
20181
20161
20151
20141
20121
20101
20092
20071
20051
20021
Back To Top
Seminars Organized
Year Number
20181
20174
20163
20155
20145
201311
20126
20119
201012
200910
200811
20079
20068
20057
20048
20034
20027
20015
20005
19991
19981
19971
19962
19951
19941
7
Back To Top