Previous Menu
The Bengali Department in the Faculty of Arts, Jadavpur University, was established in 1956, which is highly acclaimed as a distinguished department of teaching and research, the reputation being enhanced by the fact that since its inception, the department has had as its teachers, some of the luminaries of Bengali literature, like AJIT DUTTA, Shankha Ghosh, Alokeranjan Dasgupta (Poets), Dr. Sushilkumar De, Dr. Suresh Chandra Moitra, Dr. Devipada Bhattacharya (Eminent scholars),
Head Of The Department : Prof SEKHAR KUMAR SAMADDAR

Ph: 2414-6666
Extn.2457-2232, 24146267(O)

Email: hod@bengali.jdvu.ac.in

Faculty Summary Full Time
No. of teachers with Ph.D / D.Sc. as the highest qualification 6
Professors
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. /  Email ID Specialization
Achintya Biswas
Ph.D.

abiswas@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Medieval Bengali Literature/
Folk Literature
Ananya Barua
2414-6666
abaruya@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Gopa Datta

Sampa Chowdhury
Ph.D.
9231428351
chaudhutisampa@gmail.com, schoudhury@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Bengali Literature, Women studies
SEKHAR KUMAR SAMADDAR
Ph.D.

sksamaddar@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Theater Studies, Rabindranath Studies, Literary Theory
Uday Kumar Chakraborty
Ph.D.
9433886779
udayachakra@gmail.com, ukchakraborty@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Linguistics, Modern Bengali Literature, Oral Literature
Back To Top
Associate Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Barendu Mandal
Ph.D.
9830517325
bmandalju@gmail.com / bmandal@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Bengali Literature
Rabindranath Studies
Literature of Bangladesh
Sutapa Sengupta

senguptasu@gmail.com, ssengupta@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Modern Bengali Literature, Rabindranath Studies
Back To Top
Assistant Professor
Photo Name / Qualification Telephone No. / Email ID Specialization
Abdul Kafi

akafi@bengali.jdvu.ac.in, akafikol@gmail.com
Modern Bengali Literature, Literary theory, Vaishnab Literature and Culture, 19th Century Bengali Literature
Joydeep Ghosh
9831649799
jjoydipghosh@gmail.com / jghosh@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Rabindrasahitya, 19th Century Bengali Literature, Modern Bengali Poetry
Rajyeswar Sinha
Ph.D.
9836852581
rsinha@bengali.jdvu.ac.in, ragi6@rediffmail.com
Unish shatak (19th century Bengali literature)
Bangla sishu sahityo (bengali childrens literature)
Saswata Bhattacharya

sbhattacharya@bengali.jdvu.ac.in
Back To Top
Degrees Offered/Intake
  Degrees Offered Intake Capacity
B.A. (Hons)55
M.A. (Day)65
M.A. (Eve)50
M.Phil15
Ph.D - Vacancy to be declare at the time of admission20
Extra Departmental Courses
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For UG Level
Bengali (Extra Departmental Course)
Back To Top
Syllabus & Curriculum For PG Level
Back To Top
Research Activities
The research activities of the department concentrate on the Secializatio subjects offered in PG level. The department has taken initiative to publish annually "Jadavpur Journal in Bengali" since 1989. The department organizes Satinath Bhaduri Endowment lecture and Nabinchandra Sen Memorial lecture once a year since the eighth decade of 20th century.
Back To Top
library
No. of Books :
No. of Journals in Bengali :
No. of Journals in English :
Back To Top