JADAVPUR UNIVERSITY

KOLKATA – 700 032

Ref No.:R-PA/M-12/239/16

Date: August 3, 2016

CIRCULAR

Vide notification no. 581-Edn (U) / IU-139/12 dt. 22.07.2016 in exercise of the power conferred under subsection (2) and (3) of Section 23 of J.U. Act, 1981 (West Bengal Act XXIV of 1981) as amended in the West Bengal University Law (amendment) Act 2012, the Governor is pleased to constitute the Selection Committee for the Selection of Deans in Jadavpur University with the Members mentioned hereunder:

1. Prof. Debnarayan Bandyopadhyay

- Vice Chancellor, Bankura University

2. Prof. Mita Banerjee

 Vice Chancellor, West Bengal University of Teachers Training, Education Planning & Administration

3. Prof. Siddhartha Roy

 Director, Bose Institute, Kolkata and former Director, Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata

I am directed to invite curriculum vitae (enclosed format) in signed hard copy as well as electronic copy from eligible Professors of the University for the Posts

of Dean of Each Faculty Council of Post-graduate and Undergraduate Studies in Arts, in Engineering and Technology, in Science and in Interdisciplinary Studies, Laws and Management within 13.08.2016 to the Office of undersigned (mail to outa@admin.jdvu.ac.in).

The eligibility criteria are laid down in sub-section (4) and (8) of Section 23 of the said ACT which are furnished hereunder:

4) The Selection Committee shall consider the names of eligible professors of that University for the post of Dean and give proper weightage of academic excellence and adequate experience in academic and administrative governance while preparing the panel of two Professors in order of their preference for each and every Faculty Council of Post-Graduate and Undergraduate Studies:

Provided that no person shall be eligible for the post of Dean more than one term in his service tenure in the same University:

Provided further that no person holding the post of Dean in the University, on the date of commencement of this Act, shall be eligible for further selection of Dean in the same University.

(8) Every Dean appointed as per provisions of this Act shall hold the office for three years or until he retires or vacates his office for any other reasons:

Provided that a Professor shall only be eligible for empanelment for the post of Dean who has at least three years of service in his account before the age of superannuation.