Planning & Development Unit

Planning and Development Unit at Jadavpur University was established in 1996 from an endowment grant of the Planning Commission, Government of India. The purpose of the endowment grant was to promote studies and research on planning and development. Professor Biplab Dasgupta was the first Chair Professor of the Planning and Development Unit and he continued his service till December 2003.

Personnel of the Unit

Chair Professor: Prof. Tuhin K Das (link with CV)

Email: tuhin22@hotmail.com, ju.tuhinkdas@gmail.com

Mobile: +91 9836986615

Project Assistant: Dr. Sangeeta Kundu

Email: sangeetakundu9@gmail.com, skundupl@yahoo.co.in

Mobile: +91 9836974075

Activities of the Unit

- The Unit has undertaken various evaluation studies with financial support of NABARD and different departments of Government of West Bengal, and published number of working papers.
- The Unit is the research partner of the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED) a research unit of the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL), Brussels, Belgium.
- Prof. Tuhin K Das, Chair Professor of the Unit, is the Consortium member of the Collaborative research project CAERUS "*Evidence-based policy for post-crisis stabilization: bridging the gap*" funded by European Union (2013-2016).
- The Unit has been publishing volumes on "Development Policy Issues in India". The contributors in this book are mainly faculty members and research scholars of the Economics Department, Jadavpur University where the Unit is housed. Published volumes till July 2013 are:
 - (1). "Development Policy Issues in India, Volume-1: Theoretical and Empirical Studies on Poverty", 2012, acb publications, (ISBN No 81-87-500-646), Edited by T. K. Das and S. K. Haldar
 - (2). "Development Policy Issues in India, Volume-2: Studies on Disparity and Displeasure", 2013, acb publications, (ISBN No 81-87-500-654), Edited by S. K. Haldar, S. Mitra and T. K. Das

Advisory Committee of the Unit

Vice Chancellor, Jadavpur University – Chairman

Prof. Tuhin K Das, Chair Professor, Planning and Development Unit – Convener

H. O. D., Department of Economics

Prof. Goutam Gupta, Department of Economics

Prof. Ajitava Roychaudhuri, Department of Economics

Two External Members nominated by Planning Commission of India, New Delhi

Academic Committee of the Unit

Prof. Tuhin K Das, Chair Professor, Planning & Development Unit – Convener

Dr. Vivekananda Mukherjee, Department of Economics

Dr. Sushil K Halder, Department of Economics

Dr. Arpita Ghosh, Department of Economics

Dr. Poulami Roy, Department of Economics