An Entrepreneurship Development Cell has been created as a joint initiative of university students and the Business Incubation Centre, Jadavpur University, to nurture and inspire the creative minds of the students in the university by providing them the opportunities to showcase their ideas and helping them in turning their ideas into entrepreneurial ventures.

The initiative to form an Entrepreneurship Development Cell started in 2016. The Cell was formed on 20th July, 2016 through a workshop held in Salt Lake Campus in presence of Prof. Suranjan Das, Vice Chancellor, Jadavpur University, Prof. Asis Mazumdar, Member Secretary, Business Incubation Centre (MSME), Jadavpur University, several other distinguished faculty members and officers of the university and other well-known personalities in the start-up community such as Mr. Aloke Mookherjea, Former Chairman, Confederation of Indian Industry (ER) and Mr. Ravi Ranjan, Sr. Associate, NASSCOM 10,000 Start-ups.

Activities of the ED-Cell include:
  • Organizing events and workshops to create awareness about entrepreneurship
  • Mentoring the aspiring entrepreneurs by providing necessary guidance on business planning; entrepreneurial finance; start-up and business related laws; app, software and website development etc. by arranging events and bringing in suitable mentors
  • Training the interested students about investing through virtual stock markets
  • Organizing Business Plan competitions and helping students to prepare for Business Plan competitions organized by other institutes such as IITs and IIMs
  • Overall grooming of the members
Faculty Members:

Prof. Asis Mazumdar, Member Secretary, Business Incubation Centre
Prof. Partha Pratim Biswas, Department of Construction Engineering, Salt Lake Campus

Students Members:
Founding Members:

Syed Shameem Ashraf (Founding Member & Ex-Student Head, ED-Cell) - B.E., Jadavpur University, Graduated in 2016.

Debajyoti Sarkar (Founding Member & Ex-Student Head, ED-Cell)- B.E., Jadavpur University, Graduated in 2016.
Contact No. +91 75570 38011, Email:

To become a member of the ED-Cell or to get any other information please contact any of the following student co-ordinators or send an email to

Student Co-ordinators:
  • Syed Sohail (Present Student Head, ED-Cell) - +91 9836088778
  • Ronit Baidya (Present Student Head, ED-Cell) - +91 98366 79995
  • Abhishek Banerjee- +91 90389 71594
  • Utsav Bhattacharya- +91 89816 29103
  • Ujjwal Kumar- +91 95931 16135
  • Ankan Poddar- +91 98743 66051
  • Ankan Saha- +91 89814 57211
  • Sawan Jash- +91 83358 06649
  • Ayush Agarwal- +91 90515 01840
  • Agnimitra Sengupta- +91 98364 00992